The Irish Bomfords
The Mullock & Mulock Families of Great Britain & Ireland
By the late Robert Mullock-Morgans & the late Robert B.D.M. Hughes-Mullock FRAS
THE early origins of the Mullock/Mulock are Irish, a well-established local family probably based within the territories of the Dal-Araidhe, modern day Northern Ireland. Medieval texts make reference to the druid of Slemish, Miliuc Maccu Buan, the famed pagan druid who bought and enslaved the young St. Patrick. It is known that Miliuc would later throw himself upon his own funeral pyre rather than fall before his old slave. The children of Miliuc all became converts to the Christian religion. His eldest son, Guasacht, would be enthroned a Bishop, whilst his daughters Bronach and Eltene would become saints. The old druid also had a grandson St. Mochae, who would later establish Nenendrum Abbey in Ulster.
The oldest Irish branch of the family seems to have been clustered around Ballynakill, which lies about two and a half miles from Meelick, formerly called Miloc, on the Shannon. The presumption that the name is derived from the connection to the family is hard to discount.
Family history relates that some members of the family survived and fled to Western Scotland to flee the new religion, and in doing so established two distinct branches of the family. The Mullock family was known to be under the protection of the MacGregor Clan until at least the fourteenth century. During the reign of Queen Elizabeth I, Mullock family offshoots were to be found in Dumfries and Galloway in Western Scotland. At around the same time there are members of the Mullock family appearing in the English County Shire of Cheshire.
The Mullock family of Cheshire was principally clustered around the townships of Audlem, Malpas, Acton and Whitchurch. The oldest definite branch of the family descends from yeoman farmer Richard Mullock (1716-1766), a middle-class landowner and principal tenant of Sir Lynch Salusbury Cotton. By the mid-eighteenth century the Mullock family had been successful farmers and built Lodemore, a substantial half-timbered property in the Parish of Audlem (which no longer survives).
During the ‘Glorious Revolution’ of 1688 a great schism occurred in the family, largely as a result of the sides which family members allied themselves to. The Irish branch, though Protestant, sided with the Catholic King James II, while the English branch allied themselves to the Protestant William of Orange. In the wake of this, the first true separation came, noticeable in the variation of the surname. From henceforth the two main branches could easily be identified.
Although no family has the right to bear arms except for the descendants of the original bearer, the study of armorial bearings does provide an insight into the origins of a family. The arms depicted above were granted to the Mullock family sometime during the medieval period, and various branches have used variations of these arms across the centuries. In armorial terms these arms are described as been “azure, a cross moline quarter pierced, in the dexter chief a fetterlock. Crest, a lion passent in the dexter paw a crosslet fitchee”. The motto of the Mullock/Mulock family is In Hoc Signo Vinces, roughly translated as “by this sign thou shalt conquer”, the motto of the Emperor Constantine. This obviously alludes the Mullock family’s early connection with Christianity in the British Isles.
Thomas Mulock, or Mullock, of Ballynakill, in the parish of Dononaughta, County Galway, lying two and a half miles from Meelick, married about the middle of the seventeenth century, Elizabeth Mullock of Cheshire, and left at his death two sons: (A1.) Thomas, and (A2.) Nicholas.
A1. Thomas Mullock (c. 1655) Late of Moate, County Westmeath, by his marriage with his first wife Frances Meares, had a son (B1.) Jeremiah. He married secondly, Margaret Conran, and of this marriage there was issue three sons viz.: (B2.) John; (B3.) Thomas, ancestor of the Mulock’s of Kilnagarna, Bath and of Ballinagore; (B4.) Robert, ancestor of the Mulock’s of Canada, and the Homan-Mulocks of Bellair and Ballycumber.
B1. Jeremiah Mullock, who is named in the codicil dated 31st March 1757, to the will of his half-brother John Mullock, left at his death three children, viz.: (C1.) Thomas and (C2.) John.
C1. Thomas Mullock, died without issue.
C2. John Mullock, of Clara, King’s County: married and left an only son: (D1.) Joshua.
D1. Joshua Mulock (1745-1835), of Clara, King’s County. He married on 17th February 1774, Miss Sarah Robinson, of the parish of Castletown. Of this marriage there was issue four daughters, viz.: (E1.) Elizabeth (E2.) Mary (E3.) Sarah and (E4.) Eleanor. Joshua Mulock made his will in 1829 and a codicil was attached in 1832. He died in April 1835, and was buried in the churchyard at Clara, King’s County, on 16th April 1835.
E1. Elizabeth Mulock, married Mr. John Thompson
E2. Mary Mulock, married Mr. Edward Kelly
E3. Sarah Mulock, married Mr. Robert Mathews of Killare
E4. Eleanor Mulock, married Mr. Bernard Maguire.
C3. Edward Mulock, the youngest of three sons of Jeremiah Mulock named in the codicil to the will of John Mullock (B2.), by which he was bequeathed a small legacy. He died unmarried and without issue.
B2. John Mullock (d. 1757), of Liss and afterwards of Kilnagarna and Castlerea, King’s County. The eldest son of Thomas Mullock, of Moate, by his second wife Margaret Conran. He acquired freehold interests of considerable extent and value in the lands of Ballyard (afterwards called Bellair), Kilnagarna, Castlerea and others, In the King’s County. In August 1720 he married Ann, daughter of Robert Drought, of Park, King’s County. Prior to the marriage an indenture of settlement was executed between Robert Drought and Thomas Mullock. This deed of settlement was the last documented occasion that members of the Mulock family spelt their surname in this way. In this document both Thomas and John signed their surname ‘Mullock’ but, in the will of 1755, John spelled his name ‘Mulock’.
There was no issue of this marriage and by his will of 1755, John Mulock, then of Kilnagarna, devised the Ballyard estate to his nephew the Rev. John Mulock and his heirs, subject to a small annuity payable to the testator’s brother Robert Mullock. In his will he also devised all his interests in the holdings in Moate, County Westmeath to his brother. John Mullock died without issue on 22nd September 1757. In the announcement of his death in Exshaw’s Magazine of the period, he is described as then ‘of Castlerea, King’s County’.
B3. Thomas Mullock (1700-1777). Of Skinner Row, Dublin, and afterwards of Kilnagarna, the third son of Thomas Mullock, of Moate, became a conveyancer and public notary – then a branch of the legal profession – and was admitted to practice under a faculty from the Prerogative Court of Ireland. In 1744 the staunch Protestant Church of Ireland Mulock family formed a union with the staunch Roman Catholic Lawless family. On 17th May 1744 Thomas married Mary, daughter of James Lawless, of Shankill, Co. Dublin, by his first wife Margaret, daughter of Thomas Cave.
The Lawless family, originally from Hoddesdon, Herts. came to Ireland in the fourteenth century or earlier, and was seated successively at Shanganagh, Co. Dublin, Talbot Inch, Co. Kilkenny and Shankill, Co. Dublin. The above-named James Lawless was a first cousin of Robert Lawless, of Dublin and of Abingdon, Co. Limerick, father of Sir Nicholas Lawless, Bart., created Baron Cloncurry on 22nd September 1789. The Lawless family were Roman Catholic and devoted adherents of the House of Stuart; and when King James II and the remnants of his forces were encamped at Loughlinstown, Co. Dublin after the disastrous Battle of the Boyne, the King was entertained by Peter Lawless, who then resided in the fortified house of Puck’s Castle, on the lands of Rathmichael, near Shankill. A few days afterwards Mrs. Lawless gave birth to the above-named James Lawless, who received his baptismal name in compliment to the Sovereign. The King, with the Duke of Berwick serving as proxy, acted as one of his sponsors.
Ancestors of the Mulock’s of Kilnagarna, Bath and Ballinagore. There was issue of the marriage, four sons and two daughters, viz.: (C1.) Thomas (C2.) John (C3.) Robert (C4.) William (C5.) Harriet and (C6.) Mary. Thomas Mulock made his will dated 3rd February 1774, and a codicil, which was proved at Dublin on 13th December 1777. He died on 2nd September 1774, and was buried at Mount Temple, near Moate, County Westmeath.
MULOCKS OF KILNAGARNA, KING’S COUNTY
C1. Thomas Mulock BA (1746-1827), Barrister. Known in the family as ‘The Counsellor’, entered Trinity College, Dublin in 1761, he had a distinguished academic career, obtaining Scholarship in 1764, and graduating as BA in 1766. Called to the Irish Bar in Hilary Term, 1772 having previously become a member of the Middle Temple in London. For many years he had a house in Eccles Street, Dublin, where he used to live in term time. His tastes were mainly literary; versed in the ancient classics as well as English and French literature. On 4th December 1790 he married Frances Henrietta Dorothea (b.1763), daughter and co-heiress of Samuel Judge, of Ballyshiel, King’s County, by his wife Frances Otway (See Burke’s Peerage, OTWAY, Bart.; and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, OTWAY-RUTHVEN, of Castle Otway.) There was issue of the marriage, one son and five daughters, viz. (D1.) Frances (D2.) Mary (D3.) Thomas (D4.) Jane Martha (D5.) Harriet and (D6.) Catherine Louisa. He died on 20th March 1827 and was buried at Mount Temple, County Westmeath. His wife survived him and was within a month of her ninety-second birthday upon her death on 19th August 1855.
D1. Frances Mulock (1792-1826) Eldest daughter of Thomas Mulock, of Kilnagarna, born on the 11th August 1792, she died unmarried and without issue on the 6th August 1826.
D2. Mary Mulock (1794-1857) second daughter of Thomas Mulock, born on the 21st July 1794. On the 1st April 1834 she married Dr. Edward Bewley, M.D., of Moate, County Westmeath [Source: Crisp’s Visitation of Ireland, vol. IV, BEWLEY] and died on the 17th October 1857, leaving issue.
E1. Louisa Frances Bewley, born on the 20th December 1834. [Source: Crisp’s Visitation of Ireland, vol. IV, BEWLEY]
E2. Sir Edmund Thomas Bewley K.B., B.A., M.A., LL.D., Q.C., JP. (1837-1908) Of 40 Fitzwilliam Place, Dublin, knighted in 1898 by Queen Victoria. Born on the 11th January, 1837, only son of Edward Bewley, Esq., MD, of Moate, Co. Westmeath, and Mary, daughter of Thomas Mulock of Kilnagarna, King's Co.;Sir Edmund was educated at Trinity College, Dublin where he won Scholarship in 1857, a B.A. and First Senior Moderator with gold medal in Experimental and Natural Science, 1860; M.A., 1863; LL.D, 1885); called to the Irish Bar in 1862; appointed Q.C., 1882; Judge of the Supreme Court of Judicature, Ireland and Judicial Commissioner of the Irish Land Commission, 1890-98; Regius Professor Feudal and English Law, Dublin University, 1884-1890; J.P., for Counties Carlow, Dublin and Wicklow. On the 8th August 1866 he married Anna Sophia Stewart, eldest daughter of Henry Cope Colles, Barrister-at-Law, of Monkstown, Dublin, by whom he has issue, two sons and two daughters. Sir Edmund published numerous works including The Law and Practice of the Taxation of Costs, (1867); joint-author of A Treatise on the Chancery (Ireland) Act, 1867 (1868) and A Treatise on the Common Law Procedure Acts (1871). In addition to legal texts Bewley published genealogical works such as The Bewleys of Cumberland, (1902); The Family of Mulock, (1905); The Family of Poë, (1906);Some Royal descents of the families of Fleetwood, Berry and Homan-Mulock (1908) and several others. He died on 28th June 1908.
D3. Thomas Mulock (1795-1860), of Kilnagarna, the only son of Thomas Mulock, the Counsellor. Born on the 25th June 1795; married on 11th June 1833 Miss Sophia Mary Anne, daughter of the Rev. Henry Mahon, Rector of Tissauran, King’s County, by his wife Ann Symes of this marriage there were twelve children, viz.: (E1.) Thomas (E2.) Henry Louis (E3.) Anne Harriet (E4.) Frances Jane (E5.) Sophia Mary Anne (E6.) Robert (E7.) William (E8.) George Charles (E9.) Edward Ross (E10.) Charles James (E11.) Frederick Arthur and (E12.) Francis John. Thomas died on the 4th May 1860 and was buried at Liss, King’s County. His wife died on the 3rd February 1889. [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart]
E1. Thomas Mulock B.A., J.P. (1834-1900), eldest son of Kilnagarna. Born on the 27th May 1834, Thomas was educated at Trinity College, Dublin where he took the degree of B.A. in 1856. He served as Justice for the King’s County. His will dated 9th July 1897 was proven on the 24th April 1900. He died unmarried and without issue on the 26th January 1900, buried at Liss, King’s County. [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart]
E2. Henry Louis Mulock. Born on the 10th January 1836
E3. Anne Harriet Mulock. Born on the 25th September 1837, she married on the 22nd October 1867, Joseph Daniel Dickenson, of Hillview, Canterbury, New Zealand, late of the 4th King’s Own Regiment. [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart]
E4. Frances Jane Mulock (1839-1904). Born on the 23rd May 1839, she died unmarried and without issue on the 30th October 1904. She is buried at Liss. [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart]
E5. Sophia Mary Anne Mulock (1841-1898). Born on the 10th June 1841, she died unmarried and without issue [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart] on the 8th May 1898. She is buried at Liss, King’s County.
E6. Robert Mulock (1843-1864). Born on the 24th May 1843, Robert was a twin to William. He died unmarried and without issue on the 2nd July 1864. [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart]
E7. William Mulock (1843-1858). Born on the 24th May 1843, William was a twin to Robert. He died unmarried and without issue on the 4th November 1858. [Source: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart]
E8. Inspector George Charles Mulock (1845-1903). Born on the 6th May 1845, served as District Inspector for the Royal Irish Constabulary. On the 31st March 1874 he married Henrietta Cole, daughter of John Charles Metge, of Sion, County Meath; he died on the 14th March 1903 and was buried at Liss. He left issue, one son and three daughters. [Sources: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart, and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, METGE, of Athlumney]
F1. John Charles Metge Mulock, now of Kilnagarna. Succeeded to the estates there under the conditions of the will of his uncle Thomas Mulock, upon the latter’s death in 1900. Born on the 4th September 1875. [Sources: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart, and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, METGE, of Athlumney]
F2. Henrietta Georgina Ethel Mulock. Born on the 22nd November 1876; she married on the 16th September 1902 Mr. George Meares Stopford Enraght-Moony, of The Doon, King’s County. Of this marriage there was issue, a son. [Sources: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart, and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, METGE, of Athlumney and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOONY, of the Doon]
G1. Owen Robert Mulock Enraght-Moony. Born on the 9th July 1903. [Sources: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart, and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, METGE, of Athlumney and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOONY, of the Doon]
F3. Sophia Eliza Edith Mulock. [Sources: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart, and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, METGE, of Athlumney and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOONY, of the Doon]
F4. Emily Cole Mulock. Died on the 12th June 1904 unmarried and without issue. [Sources: Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, MAHON, Bart, and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, METGE, of Athlumney and Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOONY, of the Doon]
E9. Commander Edward Ross Mulock M.D., R.N. (1847-1890). Born on the 22nd March 1847, Commander Mulock served as a Staff Surgeon in the Royal Navy. In 1875 he served as Ship’s Surgeon in HMS Teazer. On the 4th February 1890 he married Georgina Augusta, daughter of the Rev. George Chute, of Roxborough, County Kerry, and died on the 1st July 1890. He had issue a posthumous son.
F1. Lieutenant Edward Ross Mulock (1890-1915), only and posthumous son of the late Commander E R Mulock, RN. Born on the 30th November 1890. At the outbreak of the First World War, he joined the 2nd Battalion Gordon Highlanders as a 2nd Lieutenant and was killed in action on the 11th March 1915. Lt Mulock is buried in the Guard Cemetery, Windy Corner, Cuinchy in France. [Source: Commonwealth War Graves Commission]
E10. Charles James Mulock B.A., of Tullamore, King’s County. Born on the 30th September 1848; educated at Trinity College, Dublin, where he obtained the degree of B.A. in 1869. Admitted a solicitor in Ireland in 1874.
E11. Frederick Arthur Mulock (1851-1876). Born on the 30th July 1851, he died unmarried and without issue on the 2nd January 1876.
E12. Francis John Mulock (1853-1886). Born on the 28th June 1853, he died unmarried and without issue on the 6th September 1886.
D4. Jane Martha Mulock (1797-1822). Third daughter of Thomas Mulock of Kilnagarna. Born on the 4th July1797; she married Toriano Francis L’Estrange, a descendant of the L’Estrange family of Keoltown, County Westmeath on the 26th December 1820. Toriano L’Estrange was a great grandson of Stephen Bomford of Gallow and had served with the 71st Regiment (Highland Light Infantry) and the Coldstream Guards. Upon her death as a result of childbirth, on the 30th January 1822, she left issue, a son: (E1.) Thomas.
E1. Thomas L’Estrange. Only child of Jane Martha Mulock and Toriano Francis L’Estrange. Born on the 30th January 1822 in King’s County, he married Sarah, daughter of Thomas Garrett of Belfast on the 8th June 1850. Educated at Trinity College, Dublin he received a B.A. in 1844 and practised as a solicitor in Belfast. There were no children of the marriage.
D5. Harriet Mulock (1800-1822). Fourth daughter of Thomas Mulock of Kilnagarna, born on the 27th May 1800. She died unmarried and without issue on the 1st July 1822.
D6. Catherine Louisa Mulock (1806-1886). Fifth daughter of Thomas Mulock, of Kilnagarna born on the 28th January 1806. She married the Rev. James Paul Holmes on the 11th June 1829, and died on 9th July 1886, leaving issue.
E1. Frances Harriet Holmes. Born on the 23rd September 1836.
E2. Reverend John Gordon Holmes B.A., (1842-1889). Late Rector of Antrim, born on the 12th August 142 and educated at Trinity College, Dublin (BA in 1866). He married firstly on the 17th January 1872, Marian, daughter of the Rev. George Chute, of Roxborough in County Kerry, by whom he had two daughters. His wife died on the 7th February 1874, survived by two daughters. On the 21st October 1883, he married secondly Elizabeth, daughter of Nicholas de la Cherois-Crommelin, of Rockport, County Antrim (See Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, DE LA CHEROIS-CROMMELIN, of Carrowdora Castle), by whom he had a son and three daughters. He died on the 14th November 1889 and was buried in Antrim. Mrs Holmes (nee Cherois-Crommelin) was sister-in-law to poet John Masefield.
F1. Dorothea Holmes
F2. John Holmes. Married a Miss Dorothy Miller and had issue, a daughter and two sons.
G1. Eileen Sophia Holmes
G2. Stuart de la Cherois Holmes
G3. John Henry Holmes
E3. Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas James Paul Holmes, M.B., R.A.M.C. Born on the 23rd October 1844 and educated at Trinity College, Dublin where he received an M.B. in 1866. On the 13th April 1880 he married Gertrude Charlotte Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. William Blow, M.A., Rector of Layer Breton, Essex, by whom he has a daughter.
F1. Florence Helena Holmes, married on the 28th July 1902, Mr. Robert Barnard Cruikshank.
E4. Louisa Lucy Holmes (1847-1885). Born on the 20th July 1847, on the 3rd July 1872 she married Lt-Colonel Caleb Shera Wills C.B., L.M., L.R.C.S. Irel, L.R.C.S. Irel., R.A.M.C. (1933-1906) Colonel Wills was the son of Robert Wills of Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim. In 1857 he joined the Army Medical Department serving at home for three years. After serving in Canada he was appointed to the 83rd Regiment of Foot. Subsequently he served as Private Secretary and AdC to Sir R. Rawson, Governor of the Bahamas, and in the same capacity in the Windward Islands until 1875. Four years later, with promotion to Surgeon-Major, he served in the Zulu War as Senior Medical Officer at the base and on the lines of communication between Durban and Lower Tugela, receiving the Queen’s Medal and Companion of the Order of the Bath. As Brigade-Surgeon he served in India until 1892, when he was appointed to the Depot at Lancaster, retiring on half-pay in 1899. He retired to Lunecliffe, Asthon-with-Stodday, devoting his time to the Committee of the British and Foreign Bible Society, as President of the Amicable Society and the British Medical Association. He died on 12th October 1906 and was buried at Scotford Cemetery, his coffin borne by non-commissioned officers from Bowerham Barracks.
Louisa Lucy Holmes died very suddenly on the 31st October 1885, survived by two sons and a daughter. Colonel Wills married again and had another son. [Source: The British Medical Journal, 27th October, 1906]
E5. Mary Anne Sophia. Born on the 19th January 1851, married Philip Homan Miller A.R.H.A, of the Royal Hibernian Academy on the 15th August 1891.
C2. John Mulock, second son of Thomas Mulock or Kilnagarna, is only known from a reference in the will of his uncle John Mulock, of Liss, and is presumed to have died young.
MULOCKS OF BATH, ENGLAND
C3. Robert Mulock, the third son of Thomas Mulock, of Dublin and Kilnagarna, obtained an appointment in the Stamp Office, Dublin, of which he eventually became Comptroller. Upon retirement he settled in Bath, where he died on the 16th April 1837 and was buried at St. Mary’s Episcopal Chapel. In June of 1784 he married Maria Sarah, daughter of Samuel Horner, of Finglas, County Dublin: there was issue of the marriage, in addition to three sons and four daughters who all died in infancy. (D1.) Thomas Samuel (D2.) William (D3.) Elizabeth (D4.) Emily (D5.) Jane (D6.) Anne (D7.) Frances (D8.) Charlotte (D9.) Harriet (D10.) Sophia and (D11.) Alicia Bonne. Maria, the widow of Robert Mulock died on the 14th February 1841 and was buried at St. Mary’s Episcopal Chapel, Bath.
D1. Rev. Thomas Samuel Mulock (1789-1869) Born in Dublin, he was a man of great ability, but even greater eccentricity. He matriculated at Magdalen Hall, Oxford, but soon abandoned his studies at the University. He was for some time Private Secretary to the eminent statesman George, later Viscount Canning, with whom he was on intimate terms. In 1819 he published his ‘Answer given by the Gospel to the Atheism of all the Ages’ and he wrote various letters on Christianity to Lord Byron, whose ways and ideas he sought to mend. He delivered courses of lectures In London, Geneva and Paris. He appears to have entered the Baptist ministry and founded a Baptist Chapel at Stoke-on-Trent. On the 7th June 1825 he married Dinah, daughter of Thomas Mellard, of Newcastle-under-Lyme. Abandoning the Baptist ministry, he became the editor of a newspaper in Scotland. During the latter years of his life he wrote many pamphlets on various subjects, social and political. Many contemporary commentators wrote that Mulock’s evangelicalism was only superseded by his eccentricity, while another wrote ‘Reverend Mulock, whose profession of extreme evangelical religiousness was not carried out by his practice’. By the early 1830s he had been confined to lunatic asylum, his chapel had been taken over and his family moved to Newcastle-under-Lyme. Shortly after the death of his wife on 30th April 1845 he deserted his family. He lived to the ripe old age of eighty and died at Stafford on the 11th August 1869. He was survived by three children, two sons and a daughter.
E1. Dinah Mariah Mulock (1826-1887). Better known as the author of ‘John Halifax, Gentleman’. Born on the 20th April 1826 at Stoke-upon-Trent, and owing to her father’s erratic habits, she was led at a very early age to seek to make a livelihood by her pen. She settled in London in around 1846. On the 30th April 1865 she married George Lillie Craik, Esq. and died without issue at Shortlands, Kent, on the 12th October 1887 and was buried at Keston in the same county. A beautiful memorial to her is erected in the Abbey Church, Tewksbury, and the portrait of her by Herbert Von Herrkomer can be viewed at the National Portrait Gallery in London. The position she held in contemporary society can be partially identified by the composition of the committee formed to place a memorial to her at Tewkesbury. The committee included Alfred, Lord Tennyson, Matthew Arnold, Robert Browning, Sir John E. Millais, Professor T H Huxley, Mrs Margaret Elephant and James Russell Lowell.
E2. Thomas Mellard Mulock (1827-1847). Born on the 18th November 1827, he died unmarried and without issue on the 22nd February 1847. A promising artist, he was forced to give up his studies and articled himself to the captain of a merchant ship. He was an Art School contemporary of Holman Hunt and others of the pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood. Hunt admired the young Mulock’s good looks. At the start of his second voyage Thomas fell from ship into the dry dock where it was berthed. Both his thighs were broken and he died after a few day of intense suffering. William Holman Hunt (1827-1910) named his daughter Gladys Millais Mulock Holman Hunt in honour of Thomas.
E3. Benjamin Robert Mulock (1829-1863) Born on the 18th June 1829 at Stoke-on-Trent in Staffordshire, he emigrated to Australia in 1850 aged just 21 years. In 1855 after returning to England he served with the Royal Army Works Corps in the Crimea. In 1858 he served as an Engineer under Mr Newlands, well-known Liverpool City Engineer. After educating himself in the art of photography he became from November 1859 until April of 1862 the Construction Photographer for the Bahia to San Francisco Railway (BSFR) in Brazil under its principal engineer Hutton Vignoles. Upon his return to England he continued with Civil Engineering, however he became, like his father, prone to bouts of mental illness. On 17th June 1863 he was accidentally killed while absconding from an Asylum.
D2. William Mulock is believed to have emigrated from the United Kingdom; but he was not heard of after 1845, and no further information concerning him has been obtained.
D3. Elizabeth Mulock (1787-1866) died unmarried and without issue on the 7th September 1866, aged seventy-nine years.
D4. Emily Mulock (1801-1885) died unmarried and without issue on the 2nd June 1885, aged eighty-four years.
D5. Jane Mulock (1801-1879) died unmarried and without issue on the 26th December 1879, at the age of seventy-eight.
D6. Ann Mulock (1806-1894) died unmarried and without issue on the 1st December 1894, at the age of eighty-nine.
D7. Frances Mulock (1807-1882) died unmarried and without issue on the 9th October 1882, at the age of seventy-five.
D8. Charlotte Mulock (1797-1876) married on the 20th December 1817, at St. Thomas’s, Dublin the Rev. George Newenham Wright, who died on the 24th March 1877. She died on the 17th April 1876, aged seventy-nine, having had eight children.
E1. Charles Newenham Wright, deceased
E2. Charlotte Wright, deceased.
E3. Robert Wright, deceased.
E4. John Wright, deceased.
E5. Sophia Wright, married Major Maurice Shipton.
E6. Reverend Richard Wright, Rector of Gisburne, Lancashire.
E7. Reverend William Wright, Vicar of Sutton, Bedfordshire.
E8. Maria Wright. On 2nd February 1860, at Frome in England she married Colonel Arundel Spens, formerly of the Honourable East India Company (See Burke’s Peerage & Baronetage, LATHALLAN, SPENS, of Lathallan, Fife), son of Colonel Arundel Thomas Spens (1809-69) and grandson of Thomas Spens, 16th Laird of Lathallan. Of this marriage there was issue, two sons and a daughter. Mrs Spens died on 4th June 1913.
F1. Arundel Thomas Spens, born in Frome, England in 1860 and died in infancy.
F2. George Murdoch Spens, born in Scotland in 1861 and died in infancy.
F3. Alice Isabella Spens (1862-1928), born in 1862 and died unmarried and without issue in 1928.
D9. Harriet Mulock. Married on 15th June 1815, at St. Thomas’s, Dublin, a Liverpool-based merchant, Mr Harris Blood.
D10. Sophia Mulock, wife of Mr. William Villiers Sankey, Esq., who died on 25th November 1860; she died on 17th February 1853, and left issue two sons and four daughters. (See Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, SANKEY, of Coolmore). Mr Sankey, son of Matthew Sankey, Barrister-at-Law and brother to Lieutenant-General Sir Richard Hieram Sankey KCB (1829-1908) was by his mother Elinor O’Hara of O’Hara Brook, Co. Antrim, a great-nephew of Viscount Duncan of Camperdown.
E1. William Henry Villiers Sankey
E2. Robert Stephen Villiers Sankey
E3. Anna Sophia Sankey
E4. Maria Sarah Sankey
E5. Mary Anne Sankey
E6. Hannah Elizabeth Sankey. She married John Roe, cousin of the Marquess of Ely and the Earl of Dorchester.
D11. Alicia Bonne Mulock (1812-1896). Born on the 8th May 1812, she married at St. Mary’s Church, Dublin on the 7th June 1864, Dr. Francis Parker Hoblyn F.R.C.S., M.D., and Surgeon of Bath, who died on The 10th August 1896. Alicia Parker Hoblyn died without issue on the 26th June 1896.
MULOCKS OF BALLINAGORE, COUNTY WESTMEATH
C4. William Mulock, of Ballinagore, County Westmeath, fourth son of Thomas Mulock, of Dublin and Kilnagarna, became the purchaser of flour mills on the river Brosna at Ballinagore. Ballinagore, lies some 2½ miles northeast of Kilbeggan on the road to Mullingar. Towards the close of his life he resided at Tullamore, King’s County. On the 21st July 1806 he married Alicia, daughter of Joseph Holmes of Drogheda, and sister of the Rev. William Anthony Holmes, Chancellor of Cashel. Of this marriage there was five issue, viz. (D1.) Alicia (D2.) Mary (D3.) William Henry (D4.) Frances and (D5.) Thomas Edmonds. The will of William Mulock is dated 12th September 1826. He died in 1827 and was survived by his wife Alicia.
D1. Alicia Mulock, born on the 25th June 1807 and died in infancy.
D2. Mary Mulock (1808-1905). Born on the 1st July 1808 at Ballinagore. She married barrister Hilary Frederick L’Estrange B.A., M.A. (1803-1881), of Fitzwilliam Square, Dublin on 10th May 1831. Hilary was the younger brother of Toriano L’Estrange, husband of her cousin Jane Martha Mulock. The couple lived at Conna near Fermoy, Co. Cork, where in 1878 Hilary owned 936 acres valued at £778, though their primary residence was near Clifton, Bristol. She died at Bath on the 3rd January 1905, leaving issue an only child.
E1. Alfred Guy Kingham L’Estrange (1832-1915) Author & Clergyman, of Cumberland Terrace, Regent’s Park, London. Only child of Mary Mulock and Hilary Frederick L’Estrange. He inherited Conna upon the death of his father Hilary in 1881 and lived there unmarried until his death in 1915.
D3. Captain William Henry Mulock Holmes (1810-1871). Born on the 14th July 1810, he assumed the name of Holmes in addition to that of Mulock, and under this name was gazetted one of Her Majesty’s Guard of the Hon. Corps of Gentlemen-at-Arms on 24th February 1846 (Appointed by HM Queen Victoria, 17th February 1846). On the 12th October 1852 he was appointed a Captain of the London Royal Militia. Captain Mulock Holmes resigned from the Honourable Corps in 1854. He married on 10th November 1869 Jessie, daughter of Dr George Cobban, of Banffshire, and died on 17th September 1871. He is buried in the Dean Cemetery, Edinburgh. In the 1838 land survey the property of W.H. Mulock included the extensive bleach-green with a fulling mill on the River Brosna, as well as those properties of his father. [Source: History of the Honourable Corps of Gentlemen-at-Arms, byHarvey Kearsley; The London Gazette, 1846]
E1. Mary Ellen Bennett Mulock. Only child of Captain William Henry Mulock Homes (1810-1871), she was only an infant when her father died. In 1897 she married Mr William Mullock (1872-1954), third and youngest son of Mr Thomas Mullock Esq, Gentleman Farmer of Flashbrook Grange and Bradley Hall, Shropshire at Nantwich Parish Church, Cheshire. Mary Ellen – or ‘Polly’ as she was known – was adopted by Robert Bennett following his marriage to her mother. The family settled at Holly House, near St. Martin’s. For a number of years William served as Overseer for the Ifton Colliery. William died in 1954 at Weston Rhun on the Welsh/English border and Mary Ellen died at ‘Lyndon’, 4 George Street, Llanrwst, Denbighshire at the home of her only daughter, Sarah Jane. Both are interred at Weston Rhun. Of the marriage there is issue, four sons and one daughter, (F1.) Robert; (F2.) Thomas; (F3.) Sarah Jane; (F4.) Francis and (F5.) William.
F1. Robert Mullock Farmer & Collier, b. 1900 in Whittington. He married Alice ----- and of this marriage there was issue four sons and three daughters.
F2. Thomas Mullock Farmer & Collier, b.1901 in Crewe. He married Gladys ---- and of this marriage there was issue two sons and two daughters.
F3. Sarah Jane Mullock (1903-1993) born in Cotton, Shropshire on the 21st December 1903, upon reaching majority she became a ladies companion on the North Wales coast for Miss Cotterall, of Homestead, Bryn Elian Road, Colwyn Bay. On the 14th April 1926 she married Richard Henry Morgans (1901-1972) a Police Constable with the Denbighshire Constabulary, in the Parish Church in St. Martins. In 1927 the couple moved to Ruabon where in 1930 their only child was born. In July 1937 PC Morgans was stationed at Llanrwst, a posting that would last until 1956 when he retired after 37 years in the force. Sarah Jane died in 1992 at Llandudno General Hospital. There was issue from this marriage, a daughter viz. (G1.) Doreen Mullock Morgans.
F4. Francis Mullock, Master of Wiston Green Asylum, Birmingham.
F5. William Mullock.
D4. Frances Mulock, died in infancy.
D5. Colonel Thomas Edmonds Mulock C.B. (1817-1873). Born on the 2nd March 1817, he obtained a commission as an Ensign in the 77th Regiment of Foot on 18th March 1836. Promoted to Lieutenant on the 29th November 1839, he transferred to the 70th Regiment of Foot in 1842. Subsequently he was promoted to Captain in 1846, Major in 1858, Lieutenant-Colonel on 27th March 1863 and finally a full Colonel in 1866. Whilst in command of the 70th Regiment of Foot during the New Zealand War of 1863-65 he was mentioned in despatches and received the campaign medal. In 1865 he was created a Companion of the Order of the Bath. On 24th January 1861 at Wimborne he married Miss Julia Florentia Sturt (d. 1910), daughter of Captain John Sturt, RE, of Crichel, by his wife Alexandrina, daughter of General Sir Robert Henry Sale G.C.B. Following the New Zealand War, Colonel Mulock and his family returned to Great Britain and lived in Windlesham, Surrey. The Colonel died on 9th September 1893, leaving issue. Miss Sturt was born 24th July 1842 in Kabul, Afghanistan. Her father, Lieutenant John Leigh Doyle Sturt, was killed prior to his daughter's birth, on 9th January 1842 at Khurd Kabul, during the evacuation of Kabul and the subsequent massacre of some 12000 British troops and their families by the Afghans. Lieutenant Sturt was the only British soldier to be given a Christian burial. He was buried, in the snow, outside the tent in which he died, by his wife Alexandrina and her mother Lady Florentia Sale, who conducted a Service of Christian Burial. Lieutenant John Leigh Doyle Sturt, was a younger brother of the Australian Explorer, Captain Charles Napier Sturt.
E1. Lieutenant Edmonds Henry Mulock (1861-1884). Born on the 14th December 1861 in New Zealand, he was appointed a Lieutenant in the 87th Regiment of Foot, Royal Irish Fusiliers based at Aldershot, his commission dated 10th May 1882. Having served in the Egyptian War of 1882, he received the medal and clasp of the campaign as well as the Khedive’s Star. He died unmarried in August of 1884 whilst serving with the 1st Battalion.
E2. Lieutenant Alfred Sale Mulock (1862-1883). Born on the 22nd November 1862 in New Zealand, he served as a Lieutenant in the King’s Own Scottish Borderers. He died unmarried and without issue on 8th January 1883. Regimental records show that Lieutenant Mulock died aboard the troopship HMS Serapis, en route to India where he was to join the 1st Battalion of the King’s Own.
E3. Lieutenant Frederick Charles Mulock R.N.V.R. (1866-1932). Artist, of Instow, north Devon. Born on 18th May 1866 in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, he studied landscape and figure painting in Brussels and Florence, before studying under Hubert von Herkkomer at Bushey. His work was exhibited at the Royal Academy eleven times, the Royal Hibernian Academy twenty times and at the Walker Gallery in London 133 times. In 1893 he married Maud, eldest daughter of Colonel G. Cadogan Thomson of the 1st Bengal Cavalry. They had issue, two sons. During the First World War, Frederick Mulock served as a Lieutenant in the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve. Appointed Temporary Sub-Lieutenant on 20th March 1916 he was placed on the books of the ‘Hermione’ and ‘Vivid’, for service with the motor boat No.145 ‘Tantrum’. He gained his seniority on 20th March 1917 and from November 1917 until April the following year, Lieutenant Mulock commanded ML. 502. In August 1918 he was added to the books of ‘Catania’ for service on shore at Taranto, transferring to general service for Intelligence duties on 6th March 1918. After a brief spell at Brindisi, he was re-appointed as Base Officer, Gallipoli (shore establishment in Italy) before being appointed on 30th April 1918 as Commanding Officer of ‘Our Allies’, a 91-ton drifter serving as parent ship for the motor launches at Taranto. Records appear to suggest that Lt. Mulock’s main role was that of Interpreter, as he was fluent in French and Italian. In the London Gazette of 20th February 1919 it was reported that ‘Lt. Mulock, who has been invalided on account of ill-health contracted in the service, to retain his rank’. He had been evacuated to Marseilles in December 1918 suffering from Euturo Colitis and after a spell at Haslar Naval Hospital, when he also contracted influenza and dysentery, he was invalided out of the RNVR on 27th January 1919. [Source: The London Gazette, 20th February 1919]. Following the war Frederick returned to his artistic endeavours, splitting his time between homes at Millard’s Hill, Instow and 41 Victoria Rd., Kensington.
F1. Lieutenant-Colonel Evelyn Edmonds Mulock OBE, MC, DL (1893-1973) ‘Tony’ Mulock was educated in HMS Conway and became a Midshipman RNR in 1910. He sailed around the world on three occasions and was a ‘Cape Horner’ with a Master’s certificate. In 1913 he held a Special Reserve Commission with the Devonshire Regiment and in August 1914 gained a Regular Commission with the Duke of Cornwall’s Light Infantry, the regiment with whom he served the rest of his Army life.
He joined the 1st Battalion DCLI in December 1914 and served in France 1914-15 with the 1st Devonshire’s, both 1st and 2nd DCLI and again in 1918 with the Rifle Brigade. Soon after his arrival in France he was involved in an exploit commanded by Spencer Hammans. During the first winter of the war the 1st Battalion was occupying trenches facing La Petite Douve Farm near Wulverghem in the Salient. The German trenches ran in front of the farm and some 130 yards distant. On the night of 16th December 1914 Lieutenant AJS Hammans, 2nd Lieutenant EE Mulock and nineteen volunteers went out to demolish some German earthworks constructed in No Man’s Land the previous night. The enemy had built a sangar of brushwood and barbed wire reaching out from their own line to an old French trench only 50 yards from the British Front Line. From here they had sapped out to a point only 25 yards away. Lieutenant Hammans reconnoitred the ground and returned for volunteers. They filled in both the trench and the sap and destroyed most of the sangar. They worked undisturbed for three hours in close proximity to the enemy before an outbreak of firing to the north resulting in the firing of star shells which illuminated Hammans and his party. At this point they withdrew, all reaching the safety of their own trench.
In January 1915 Mulock was in charge of the 1st Battalion Sapper. On 31st May 1915 he took over as Acting Adjutant to the 2nd Battalion. He was in charge of a patrol on 5th August 1915. They went out to investigate an enemy sap and were fired upon. Lieutenant Mulock fired seven rounds from an automatic pistol at the enemy party which consisted of five or six men. One of the enemy was seen to discharge his rifle in the air and was presumed to have been hit. He took over duties of Acting Adjutant again of 7th September 1915. On 29th September there was a duel between Battalion snipers and some Germans, Lieutenant Mulock accounting for one of the three German snipers claimed as killed.
He went to Salonika with the 2nd Battalion in November 1915. In early December he had a short spell in hospital. He was promoted to Temporary Captain on 29th December, to date from 22nd October 1915. His Military Cross was noted in the Battalion War Diary on 27th January 1916. It had been seen in a list of awards in a newspaper received from home. His Military Cross was gazetted 16th January 1916. He was twice Mentioned in Despatches and twice wounded.
On 10th September 1916 as Officer Commanding D Company he led a patrol against the village of Kara Orman. After chasing out the Bulgarian troops and clearing the village the patrol ‘took prisoner’ a number of geese and poultry. The action became known throughout the Battalion as the ‘Battle of Goose Farm’. He was also involved in the attack on Kato Gudeli on 23rd September 1916. On 17th November 1916 both he and his orderly were wounded near Kakaraska during the attack on Tumbitza. They were attempting to get a message back to brigade to request artillery support as the Battalion was pinned down by the enemy.
From 28th May 1919 to 5th February 1924 Mulock served with the West Africa Frontier Force. In 1931 Mulock became adjutant to the 4th /5th DCLI after five years with the R.W.A.F.F., a short spell in Germany with 2/DCLI and then in India with the 1st Battalion. Promoted to Major on 20th February 1934, he served as Commander Regimental Depot 1935-37, retiring as Lieutenant-Colonel in late 1937 to become Secretary of the Cornwall Territorial Army Association.
On 24th August 1939, he was recalled from the Pool of Reserve Officers as Brigade Major. Mulock commanded the 7th Battalion and later the 30th Battalion DCLI serving in Egypt and Eritrea. In April 1945 he was appointed Lieutenant-Colonel (TA) and held various staff appointments, until 1958 – over 21 years.
Lieutenant-Colonel Mulock was appointed Deputy Lieutenant of Cornwall in 1950. He died at Comprigney on 7th August 1973 aged 79. In addition to the Military Cross, he received the OBE. His wife Enid survived him and died at Comprigney House, Truro in October 1980. They were survived by a daughter, (G1.) Camilla.
G1. Camilla Mulock. Only child of Lt. Colonel Evelyn Edmonds Mulock MC, OBE, DL. She married John Rushbrook (d.2007) and of this marriage there was issue, two daughters (H1.) Susan and (H2.) Caroline, both of whom live in Canada.
F2. Commander John Sale Mulock O.B.E., R.N.V.R. Born on the 23rd November 1900 in Westminster, he served with the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve from the outbreak of war. On 22nd February 1940 he was appointed a Temporary Lieutenant Commander (Sp.Br.) and served with the Naval Equipment Department of the Admiralty, borne in HMS President. On 12th October 1943 he was posted to HMS Appledore, the base and training camp for the Combined Operations department at Fremingham Camp, Appledore. It was here that Mulock worked on major modifications to allied LCTs, which included the Mulock Ramp, Mulock Extension and the Mulock Anchor. These were modifications included on US Navy landing craft prior to the Normandy Landings. Appointed Temporary Acting Commander in October 1944 he remained at HMS Appledore until April 1946. After the Second World War the Royal Commission on Awards to Inventors, usually known as the Cohen Commission, awarded him grants for his modifications to Landing Craft. On 13th June 1946 Commander J.S. Mulock was awarded the OBE in King George VI’s Birthday Honours List for his services.
He married Miss Lavinia Agnes Mann in 1918, however by 1919 she had filed for restitution of conjugal rights and by 1924 she had filed for divorce. He married secondly a Miss Dunlop in 1926. Commander Mulock OBE, RNVR died in 1964 at Barnstaple, Devon. [Source: The London Gazette, June 1946; the Navy Lists 1940 – 46]
E4. Eileen Florentia Mulock. Fourth child and eldest daughter of Colonel Thomas Edmonds Mulock and Julia Florentia Sturt. On the 18th June 1903 she married Mr Henry George Bagnall Vane (b. 1861), Treasurer of the Federated Malay States, as his second wife. Vane was the second son of Harriet Baybrooke, the daughter of Colonel Samuel Baybrooke and Mr George Vane CMG, CCS late Treasurer of the Island of Ceylon and member of both the Legislative Council and Governor’s Executive Council under the Robinson, Gregory and Longden administrations. Educated at Marlborough College, Henry Vane went out to the Federated Malay States in 1884 as Assistant Auditor, Perak (1884-87); Assistant Auditor-General for the Straits Settlements (1887-90); stationed in Negri Sambilan (1890-93); State Auditor for Selangor (1893-95); State Auditor for Perak (1895-1903). In 1903 he entered the service of the Federal Government becoming Acting Financial Commissioner in November, 1906. In 1915 HGB ‘Woolly’ Vane retired as Treasurer for the Federated Malay States and he became Hon. Secretary of the Lake Club, doing ‘a great deal to further its interests and continue its popularity’. An enthusiastic tennis player, he was considered the best in the Malay States in his younger days, as well as a keen footballer. His older brother Frederick William Vane ISO was late Postmaster-General & Director of Telegraphs, Controller of Government Stores and Secretary, Savings Bank for Ceylon before retiring to Bexhill-on-Sea, Sussex in 1908. [Sources: The London Gazette, 30 May 1877; 20th century impressions of British Malaya: its history, people, commerce, industries and resources, 1908; The Times, Friday 28 June 1889; List of Inscriptions on Tombstones and Monuments in Ceylon by J. Penry Lewis CMG].
E5. Julia Nina Mulock. Fifth and youngest child of Colonel Thomas Edmonds Mulock and Julia Florentia Sturt. On the 16th November 1898 she married Mr Robert Menzies.
C4. Harriet Mulock. Eldest daughter of Thomas Mulock, of Dublin and Kilnagarna, was baptised on the 16th June 1760 at St. Werburgh’s, Dublin, and died unmarried.
C5. Mary Mulock (1778-1828). Younger daughter of Thomas Mulock, of Dublin and Kilnagarna. Born in 1778 she died unmarried on the 31st October 1828 and was buried at Liss, King’s County, Ireland.
MULOCKS OF BANAGHER
B4. Doctor Robert Mulock (d. 1791). Of Moate, County Westmeath, and afterwards of Banagher, King’s County, fourth son of Thomas Mulock, of Moate. Initially entering the medical profession, he practised in the township of Moate. In addition to lands granted to him in the will of his brother John, he possessed interests in Ballinakill, County Galway, Moyally, King’s County and other freeholds in the same county. He moved to Banagher sometime between August of 1756 and April of 1764. He married his wife Katherine [Catherine Homan - see next entry] and of this union there were issue, one son and three daughters, (C1.) John (C2.) Helena (C3.) Elizabeth and (C4.) Frances. Dr Robert Mulock died sometime before December 1791.
MULOCKS OF BELLAIR, KING’S COUNTY
C1. Reverend John Mulock D.D., B.A. (1729-1803). Of Bellair, King’s County, Ireland. Born in 1729, he matriculated at Trinity College in Dublin between 1744 and 1747. He was awarded a B.A. in 1749. The Reverend Mulock succeeded to the Ballyard or Bellair estates in 1757 upon the death of his uncle John Mulock. He married firstly Frances, the daughter of Hurd Wetherall and Frances Heighington, of Castle Wetherall, King’s County, died 'at Kinnegad, wife of the Rev Mr John Mullock, one of the Chaplains to his Grace the Lord Lieutenant' (Pue’s Orrurrences, Tuesday 18 April 1758, pg 2) by whom he had issue: - (D1.) Hurd Augustus (D2.) John (D3.) Sarah and (D4.) Frances Emilia. The family of Wetherall (or Wetherelt as was originally found), of Castletown Clonkeen, otherwise Castle Wetherelt, was most prominent in the late seventeenth century. William Wetherelt, of Castletown married Miss Hurd, of Lisdowney, Co. Kilkenny. In 1703 he was succeeded by his eldest son, Hurd, whose only son Vans died unmarried in 1764. Hurd Wetherall’s seven daughters married into prominent families including the Longworth-Dames and Mulock. A Wetherall was present at the Battle of the Boyne.
The Rev. John Mulock married secondly on 18th February 1764 Miss Anne Homan, daughter of Mr Richard Homan of Surock, County Westmeath, through whom he acquired some of the Homan estates; and of this marriage there was issue, (D5.) Thomas Homan Mulock (D6.) Mary and (D7.) Elizabeth. The Reverend Mulock died in 1803 after having devised the residue of his estates to his son Thomas Homan Mulock at that time of Bellair. The Reverend Mulock was Rector of Portnashanagan 1785-1803, a parish north of Mullinagar.
Re acquisition of the Homan estates, see deeds 66752 and 66753 in the registry of deeds. They show that Philip Homan of Moate had three children: Richard Homan of Moate who inherited, Robert Homan (dsp 1786), and Catherine Homan. Catherine Homan married Robert Mulock and had issue, Reverend John Mulock (this entry). Richard Homan married Elizabeth Low and had issue, Anne Homan, who inherited the Homan lands when Richard Homan died in 1789. So the Reverend John's second marriage was to his first cousin Anne Homan, and brought the Homan land to the Mulock family (Meg Young email 27 Jan 2019).
D1. Hurd Augustus Mulock. Of Dublin, eldest son of the Rev. John Mulock. He was called to the Irish Bar in Easter Term, 1780. He died unmarried and without issue in September 1806
D2. John Mulock. Of Dublin, second son of the Rev. John Mulock, was admitted an attorney of the Court of King’s Bench in Ireland, and a solicitor of the Court of Chancery. From 1792 to 1800 he resided in Camden Street, Dublin. He married Miss Elizabeth Vance, of Dublin and there were five sons and one daughter issue of the marriage, (E1.) John (E2.) William (E3.) Robert (E4.) Vans or Henry Vans (E5.) Thomas and (E6.) Emily. Mr John Mulock died intestate in 1805 and his estates were granted to his widow.
E1. John Mulock. Of Dublin, matriculated at Trinity College from November 1795. He died unmarried and intestate. Letters of administration granted his estate to his mother Elizabeth Mulock in 1806.
MULOCKS OF CANADA
E2. William Mulock. Of Dublin and Banagher, afterwards of Orillia, Lake Simcoe in Upper Canada (now Ontario). He was, for many years engaged in business in Dublin in partnership with a member of the Vance family, but afterwards on his own account. He married Miss Sarah Pasley, daughter of Robert Pasley, at St. Werburgh’s, Dublin on the 30th November 1805. There was issue of the marriage eleven sons and one daughter, viz. – (F1.) John (F2.) William (F3.) John (F4.) Thomas (Homan) (F5.) Henry (F6.) John (F7.) Hurd Augustus (F8.) Homan (F9.) Mary (F10.) Vans (F11.) Robert Paisley and (F12.) Henry Josias. After a short residence at Twickenham, King’s County, William Mulock moved to Banagher in around 1820, and lived there until 1834 when he emigrated with the greater portion of his family to Canada, and settled on a farm of about 200 acres at Orillia, then called Newtown Narrows, on Lake Simcoe, in what is now the province of Ontario, but was then called Upper Canada. He died in around 1850 and was buried in St. James’s Churchyard there. His wife survived him for a few years, and was buried beside her husband.
F1. John Mulock (1806-1808). This child died in youth. On 25th January 1808.
F2. William Mulock. Born on the 11th April 1808 at Banagher, King’s County, he was believed to have died unmarried in California, United States of America.
F3. John Mulock. The second child to bear the name also died in youth, less than ten-month-old on the 9th November 1810.
F4. Doctor Thomas (Homan) Mulock F.R.C.S., M.D. (1811-1847). Born on the 28th April 1811 at Banagher, King’s County, he was educated for the medical profession at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, and at the Medical School of Trinity College, Dublin. He assumed the additional name of Homan and whilst in Ireland he married Pheobe, who died in November 1835 at Banagher, about ten months after her marriage, having given birth to a child who did not survive its mother. Proceeding to Canada, Thomas Homan Mulock married secondly, Miss Mary Cawthra, the only daughter of Mr John Cawthra, formerly of Yorkshire and afterwards of Newmarket, Canada on 22nd May 1838, at St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church, Toronto. There were two sons and three daughters of this marriage, viz.: - (G1.) John (G2.) Marian (G3.) William (G4) Sarah Thomasina and (G5.) Rosamond Phoebe. Doctor Thomas Homan Mulock died on the 4th January 1847 and his wife Mary died in December of 1882.
G1. John Mulock (1839-1852). Eldest son of Thomas Homan Mulock, born on the 24th October 1839, he died in January of 1852.
G2. Marian Mulock. Born on the 23rd April 1841, she married Mr William Boultbee, CE at Madras in India on the 12th December 1866. They had five sons and six daughters, of whom two sons and three daughters died young.
H1. William Mulock Boultbee (1873-1912), Legal Practitioner. The son of Marian Mulock and Mr. William Boultbee CE (b. 1832), born on 30th May 1873 in India. He was known throughout his life as ‘Thumby’ meaning little brother in the Hindu language. Following boarding school at Upper Canada College, Toronto he attended the University of Toronto and Osgoode Hall Law School. Articled to the firm of McCarthy, Osler, Hoskins & Creelman, he graduated in 1897. He had hoped to join the firm of his uncle William Mulock, but when this did not work out he started his own firm. Operating from 1898 at No. 75 Yonge Street, Toronto in 1900 a partnership was formed as Denton, Dunn & Boultbee in the Temple Building at the corner of Bay and Richmond Street, Toronto. On 16th August 1899 William married Margaret Amy Douglas in England. She was the niece of George Smith Holmestead, Registrar of the Chancery Division of the High Court of Justice, his parents neighbour in Canada. They returned to Canada and set up home at No. 27 Crescent Rd., Toronto. The couple had five sons and one daughter.
With the discovery of silver and cobalt on the Ontario/Quebec border in 1903 mining prospectors followed and the town of Cobalt, Ontario was incorporated in 1907. Although the town of Cobalt was little more than a series of shacks, the need for legal representation ensured that William prospered, setting up a partnership with a Mr. Browning. In due course he gained shares in Coniagas Mines Ltd. With the profits he purchased 135 acres of land running from Yonge Street at York Mills, Ontario towards Bayview Avenue and crossing the valley near the Don river. William also began construction of a large three-storey home here. Work began in 1910 and was to be completed in 1913. William died on 17th August 1912 and was buried at St. John’s Church, York Mills, Ontario. In his memory Amy donated three paintings by French artist Eugene Boudin, to the Art Gallery of Ontario. The Boultbee family lived at the house built by their father until 1948 when it was purchased as Waycroft School. It subsequently became the Hillcrest Progressive Nursery School.
G3. The Right Honourable Sir William Mulock K.C.M.G., Q.C., M.P., P.C. (1844-1944), Canadian Postmaster-General. Born on the 19th January 1843 in Bondhead, Canada West and educated at Newmarket Grammar School, Ontario. He attended the University of Toronto where he was awarded a B.A. with gold medal in Modern Languages in 1863, an M.A. in 1871 and an LL.D. (Hons) in 1894. Called to the Ontario Bar in 1868, he practised law in Toronto and was elected a Queen’s Council in 1890. Elected to the Canadian House of Commons in 1882 as Member for North York, he was re-elected in 1887, 1891, 1896, 1900 and 1904. On 13th July 1896 he was made Postmaster-General of Canada and a Member of the Privy Council of Canada (posts he held until 1905) whilst serving in the Liberal administration of Sir Wilfred Laurier.
In July 1900 he was made the first Minister of Labour (until 1905), having been primarily responsible for creating the Department of Labour, setting down the text of the law himself. In the same year he was elected Chief Justice of the Exchequer Division, High Court of Ontario from October 16th 1905 until 1923 when he was appointed Chief Justice of Ontario (1923-1936). For a number of years Sir William Mulock was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Toronto (1881-1900), and Chancellor (1924-1944). In 1900 he was the Canadian Representative at the inauguration of the Federal Parliament of Australia. On the 26th June 1906 he was created a Knight Commander of the Most Glorious Order of St. Michael and St. George by King Edward VII. In 1925 he was made a member of the Privy Council of Great Britain.
Sir William had been a friend of the King family and when in 1900 Mulock was organising the new Department of Labour, which was originally attached to the Post Office, he sent the young William Lyon Mackenzie King a telegram, inviting him to join the federal public service. In September 1900, King was appointed Deputy Minister and he credited Sir William with bringing him into politics.
On the 25th May 1870 he married Sarah Crowther, eldest daughter of Mr James Crowther, of Toronto, Barrister-at-Law. There was issue of the marriage two sons and tow daughters. Sir William remained very active after his political career ended in 1905. On Sir William Mulock’s 100th birthday on January 19th , 1944 Canadian Prime Minister W L Mackenzie King went to visit him in Toronto and later wrote in his diary “I would not like to have missed this day for anything”. On the 1st October 1944 Sir William Mulock “The Grand Old Man of Canada” died, and Mackenzie King was a pallbearer at his funeral. Across Canada and in Canadian offices across the world flags flew at half-mast. Sir William left an estate of $2.5 million dollars, including a $50,000 bequest to Mackenzie King.
H1. William Mulock. Of Toronto, Canada. Eldest son of Sir William Mulock and Sarah Ellen Crowther. Born on the 31st May 1871. In 1894 he married Miss Ethel Pate, daughter of Mr W.J. Pate, of Toronto. Of the marriage there was issue, a son.
I1. The Right Honourable William Pate Mulock. M.P., P.C. (1897-1954), Canadian Postmaster-General. Born on the 8th July 1897, he attended Upper Canada College, Toronto, University of Toronto and Osgoode Hall. Having practised law at Armitage, Ontario he was also proprietor of the York Apple Orchards, Ontario. Following service with the Canadian Expeditionary Force in the North Russian Campaign of 1918-19, he married a Miss Johnston in December 1919. A Liberal candidate at the federal general election of 1930 at his grandfather’s old seat of York North, he was defeated but was elected to the Canadian House of Commons at a by-election in 1934 for York North. Re-elected in 1935,1940 he sat until the dissolution of the 19th Parliament, but was not a candidate in 1945. Elected a member of the Canadian Privy Council on 8th July 1940, he was made Postmaster-General of Canada the same day. On June 8th 1945 he stepped down as Postmaster-General. He died at Toronto, Ontario on the 25th August 1954.
H2. Edith Mulock. Eldest daughter of Sir William Mulock and Sarah Ellen Crowther. Born on the 15th May 1873 she married Mr Robert McDowell Thomson, of Toronto, Barrister-at-Law on the 16th June 1897.
H3. Ethel Mulock. Third child of Sir William Mulock and Sarah Ellen Crowther. Born on the 26th March 1877 she married Mr Arthur J. E. Kirkpatrick, of Coolmine, Toronto on the 21st June 1899.
H4. Cawthra Mulock (1882-1918), Philanthropist and businessman. Of Toronto, Ontario. Born on the 17th May 1882 in Toronto. Educated at Upper Canada College and the University of Toronto, where his father was vice-chancellor and which he left after 1901, prior to graduating but with his future secured. In 1897 he was the sole beneficiary of the estate of his great-aunt Sarah Crowther, widow of William Cawthra and William Allan Murray, both wealthy businessmen. At the age of twenty-one Cawthra began to receive instalments of an estate worth $2,700,000, the Canadian press dubbing him ‘the boy millionaire’. The residue, including Sarah Cawthra Murray’s magnificent residences, was to become his after he turned twenty-five. Why his sisters and elder brother were passed over remains a mystery.
On 24th June 1903 he married Miss Adèle Baldwin Falconbridge, daughter of the Hon. Sir William Glenholme Falconbridge K.C., M.A., B.A., Kt (1846-1920), Chief Justice of the King’s Bench, Ontario and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, 1900-1920, and Lady Mary Phoebe Falcolnbridge (Valerie Price-Currer email 13 April 2014). This marriage caused much consternation, because Adèle was Catholic and Cawthra was an Anglican. Catholic Archbishop Denis O’Connor, intent on discouraging mixed marriages, insisted that they be married in the priest’s residence rather than in a church. Sir William Mulock, at this time a cabinet minister, enlisted pressure from Sir Wilfred Laurier, Canadian Prime Minister and leading Canadian Catholics, but O’Connor resisted and the marriage took place in the residence at Our Lady of Lourdes Church. [Source: Dictionary of Canadian Biography].
In 1904 Cawthra was recruited to the Board of Toronto General Hospital by its chairman, after someone (possibly Sir William Mulock), suggested that he would be spoiled by his money unless put to work. He also sat on the Board of the Toronto Guild of Civic Art, leading to his construction at a cost of $750,000 the Royal Alexandra Theatre on King Street, completed in 1907.
A taste for entrepreneurship facilitated Mulock’s entry into business. In 1908 he bought a seat on the Canadian Stock Exchange and following the receipt of his entire wealth in 1909 he became Director of Confederation Life Association, the Imperial Bank of Canada and the National Trust Co., Ltd. As vice-president of the Maple Leaf Mining Co., Ltd., he was responsible for the creation of the Canada Bread Co., Ltd in 1911, which he controlled. In addition he was President of the National Iron Works Ltd., and the Guardian Trust Co., Ltd. His business portfolio was expanded by property at Brighton Beach, Lake Simcoe and Toronto’s exclusive Rosedale district. In 1913 the Toronto Daily Star estimated Cawthra Mulock’s wealth to be $4 million, Toronto’s fifth wealthiest man.
Like his father, Mulock was a Liberal. A member of the general committee of the Ontario Liberal Association, he enjoyed good relations with Sir Wilfred Laurier, and he and his wife were regular guests at the Prime Minister’s home.
Cawthra Mulock, who the Toronto Daily Star described as ‘a strikingly handsome young man, in a bloodless, blond way, the golden boy of Edwardian Toronto’, died suddenly on 1st December 1918 while visiting New York, a casualty of the Spanish Influenza epidemic. He was brought back to Toronto and interred in St. James’ Cemetery. His estate, valued at $2,351,211.87, was divided amongst his children, (I1.) Adèle Cawthra; (I2.) Frances Cawthra; (I3.) Violet Cawthra and (I4) Cawthra Falconbridge.
I1. Adèle Cawthra Mulock (1904-1970). Born on the 5th May 1904, eldest daughter of Cawthra Mulock and Adèle Baldwin Falconbridge. She married Alfred Rogers of Toronto, Ontario. Of this marriage there was issue, a son (J1.) Alfred Mulock Rogers. She died in Miami, Florida in February, 1970.
J1. Alfred Mulock Rogers (1926-1968). Actor, director and manager. Born in Toronto, Ontario on 10th April 1926 (IGI) only son of Adèle Cawthra Mulock and Alfred Rogers. In the spring of 1949 he and his wife [not clear who his then wife was. He is reported as married at that time to Stephanie Lebow (Robin Mulock email 24 Dec 2015); and later to actress Catharine Ellison, and to actress Steffi Henderson (Wikipedia)] bought a disused barn at Jackson’s Point on Lake Simcoe, north of Toronto. Together they built a 300-seat summer theatre, the Red Barn Theatre. At the opening Harry Belafonte sang and the new theatre was one the first to show Tennessee Williams’s The Glass Menagerie and Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes. The first season was a financial failure due to its staging of serious drama and Al left, moving to the United Kingdom. As Al Mulock he gained work in British television and films, usually in small supporting roles.
His television roles included Douglas Fairbanks Jnr., Presents in episode The Samples (1956); The Vise playing ‘Killer’ in episode Death by Delayed Payment (1957) and episode Death has Three Faces as ‘Vanders’ (1958); International Detective playing ‘Fred Clinton’ in episode The Whitley Case (1960); The Four Just Men playing ‘Lieutenant’ in episode Justice for Gino (1960); Zero One playing ‘Radio Operator’ in episode Downdraft (1963) and Espionage playing ‘Leo Worth’ in episode ‘We the Hunted’ (1964).
His first film role came with a brief appearance in Joe Macbeth (1955) by Ken Hughes, playing an assassin. This was followed by roles as ‘Interrogator’ in Interpol (John Gilling, 1957); ‘Rod’ in Kill Me Tomorrow (Terence Fisher/Francis Searle, 1957); ‘Frank Davidson’ in High Hell (Burt Balaban, 1958); ‘Brainy Peterson’ in Death Over My Shoulder (Arthur Crabtree, 1958); ‘Dino’ in Tarzan’s Greatest Adventure (John Guillermin, 1959); ‘Martin Banton’ in Tarzan the Magnificent (Robert Day, 1960); ‘Dancer’ in Jazz Boat and In the Nick (Ken Hughes, 1960); ‘Mark Billings’ in The Hellions (Ken Annakin/Irving Allen, 1961); ‘second Henchman’ in Call me Bwana (Gordon Douglas, 1963); ‘Dealer’ in The Small World of Sammy Lee (Ken Hughes, 1963); ‘Nick’ in Game for Three Losers (1964) and in his final British film he played ‘Detective’ in Dr. Terror’s House of Horrors (Freddie Francis, 1965).
With the rise of the so-called Spaghetti Western genre of films, Al moved to Andalusia in Spain, were many of these films were shot. Here he had one of his few leading roles in Huyendo del Halcon or Fly From The Hawk (Cecil Barker, 1966). This early success was followed by roles as ‘Mugnier’ in Lost Command (Mark Robson, 1966); ‘One-armed Bounty Hunter’ in Il buono, il brutto, il Cattivo or The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (Sergio Leone, 1966); ‘Pat’ in El tesoro de Makuba or The Treasure of Makuba and as ‘Wurlitz the Wizard’ in Una Bruja sin Escoba or A Witch Without a Broom (Jose Maria Elorrieta, 1967); ‘The Beggar’ in I Crudeli or The Cruel Ones (Sergio Corbucci, 1967); ‘Private’ in Reflections in a Golden Eye (John Huston, 1967); ‘Sgt Marvin Mulberry’ in Battle Beneath the Earth (Montgomery Tully, 1967) and as ‘Wild Jack’ in I giorni dell’ira (Tony Valerii, 1968).
His final role came in 1968 and ended controversially. In 1968 he won the role as ‘Knuckles’ in a new Sergio Leone western, C’era una volta il West or Once Upon A Time in the West. In the thirteen minute preamble sequence to the film Al Mulock (Knuckles), Woody Strode (Stoney) and Jack Elam (Snakey) are three bandits from Frank’s Gang (Henry Fonda) at the deserted cattle station with Charles Bronson (Harmonica). Whilst on location in Guadix in Spain Mulock, alleged by Sergio Leone to be a drunk and drug addict – though no one else asserts this - committed suicide by jumping from the roof of a hotel. One of the film's screenwriters Mickey Knox and production manager Claudio Mancini were in a hotel room when they saw his body pass their window. Mancini put Mulock in his car to drive him to the hospital. Knox claimed in an interview that before that, director Sergio Leone said to Mancini "get the costume, we need the costume". Mulock was wearing the costume he wore in the movie when he jumped.
I2. Frances Cawthra Mulock (1906-1981). Second daughter of Cawthra Mulock and Adèle Baldwin Falconbridge. Born on 20th May 1906 in Toronto, Ontario. She died on 15th August, 1981.
I3. Violet Cawthra Mulock (1910-1967). Third daughter of Cawthra Mulock and Adèle Baldwin Falconbridge. Born on 31st January 1910 in Toronto, Ontario. She died on 18 February 1967 in Mexico.
I4. Cawthra Falconbridge Mulock (1915-1998), Canadian Artist. Youngest child and only son of Cawthra Mulock and Adèle Baldwin Falconbridge. Born on 14 June 1915 in Toronto, Ontario. A well-known Canadian painter, he lived at the Mulock family estate, situated on Mulock Drive, Newmarket, Ontario and died in December 1998.
G4. Sarah Thomasina Mulock (1845-1879). Second daughter of Thomas Homan Mulock, born on the 12th July 1845. In 1868 she married Mr George W. Lount, of Newmarket, Canada, Barrister-at-Law. She died in February 1879 leaving issue of the marriage two sons, and one daughter who died young.
G5. Rosamond Phoebe Mulock. Youngest daughter of Thomas Homan Mulock, born on the 17th September 1846. She married Mr George W. Monk of South March, Canada on 7th September 1887. Of the marriage there is a son.
F5. Henry Mulock (1812-1821). Fifth son of William Mulock, of Banagher and Orillia, born on the 18th December 1812 at Banagher, King’s County and died in his youth on the 26th July 1821. He is buried at Banagher.
F6. Reverend Canon John Augustus Mulock M.A. (1814-1897). Of Kingston, Ontario. Born on the 9th June 1814 at Banagher, King’s County, he matriculated at Trinity College, Dublin from October 1832. He married Miss Martha Catherine Robins, who died in 1879 and was buried at Brockville, Ontario. There was issue of the marriage in addition to a child who died in infancy, (G1.) Mary; (G2.) William Redford and (G3.) John Henry. The Rev John Mulock, who assumed the name Augustus in addition to his baptismal name, was a Canon of St. George’s Cathedral, Kingston, Ontario. He died on the 11th September 1897 and was buried alongside his wife at Brockville.
G1. Mary Mulock. Married Robert Cassels K.C. as his first wife; died on 18th August 1884
G2. William Redford Mulock K.C. Of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Barrister-at-Law, King’s Counsel. Born on the 11th January 1850 at Banagher, King’s County he was educated at Toronto University where he was awarded a B.A. in 1869. Called to the Bar of Ontario in Michaelmas term of 1872; called to the Manitoba Bar, Easter term 1882. Admitted Advocate for North-West Territories on 14th September 1889. Appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1890. On the 26th July 1883 he married Miss Lillian Lucia Cummins, daughter of John H. Cummins, of Magog, Quebec. There has been issue of this marriage three children : (H1.) Mary Lillian; (H2.) Redford Henry and (H3.) William Galton.
H1. Mary Lillian Mulock. Born on the 20th April 1884.
H2. Air Commodore Redford Henry Mulock CBE, DSO*, MID, L’d’H, RCAF (1885-1961) First World War Canadian Air Ace. Born on the 11th August 1885 at Winnipeg, Canada. Graduated from McGill University, Montreal with a BSc in Electrical Engineering Joined the Canadian Field Artillery in 1911, but surrendered his militia commission to join the 1st Contingent CEF in September 1914. Transferred to the Royal Naval Air Service in 1915. On May 21st 1916 he became the first Canadian ace of the war as well as the first RNAS pilot to claim 5 victories. While serving with 1 Wing (Dunkirk) he made only the second recorded attack by an aircraft on a submarine. He was the first pilot to carry out night spotting for artillery and to test parachute flares. During the war his exploits included pursuit of a German bomber (16th April 1915); pursuit of a Zeppelin from Ramsgate to the Belgian coast under fire (17th May 1915); bombing the Brussels Zeppelin sheds in daylight despite enemy fire (8th July 1915). In April 1915 he joined Westgate as part of the Submarine and Zeppelin patrols and successively served with No.1 Squadron, 8th July 1915; Dunkirk HQ, 21st May 1916; Air Ministry, 19th July 1918; Independent Force, 25th October 1918; Commander of No.82 Group; Air Ministry and No.27 Group, 25th October 1918; HQ Northern Area, 26th January 1919.
On 29th August 1918 he was promoted to Colonel, thus becoming the highest-ranking Canadian airman of the First World War. On 22nd June 1916 he was awarded the Distinguished Service Order (DSO), and on 3rd June 1919 made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE). Twice Mentioned in Despatches, he also was created a Chevalier of the Legion of Honour by the French Government in September 1917. After the war, he continued to work in aircraft manufacturing and design, eventually rising to the rank of Air Commodore in the new Royal Canadian Air Force. In 1931 he was made Honorary ADC to the Governor-General of Canada. The Air Commodore died at his home in Montreal on the 23rd January 1961.
H3. William Galton Mulock. Born on the 23rd December 1887
G3. John Henry Mulock, of Montreal. Born on the 20th November 1855 at Banagher, King’s County, he married Miss Amy Elizabeth Cochrane, daughter of Mr John Charles Thomas Cochrane of Brockville, Ontario on 24th September 1881.
F7. Hurd Augustus Mulock (1816-1820). Seventh son of William Mulock, of Banagher and Orilia. Born on the 11th July 1816 at Banagher, King’s County he died on the 1st June 1820
F8. Homan Mulock (1818-1836). Eighth son of William Mulock of Banagher and Orilia. Born on the 8th March 1818 at Banagher, King’s County, he accidentally drowned in Bass Lake, near Orilia on the 1st November 1836 and was buried in St James’s Churchyard, Orilia.
F9. Mary Mulock (1820-1895). Born on the 6th February 1820 at Banagher, King’s County, she married Mr Arthur Guinness Robinson, Civil Engineer on 7th March 1843. There is issue of this marriage two sons and two daughters. Mary died on 23rd February 1895.
F10. Vans Mulock (1821-1895) Ninth son of William Mulock of Banagher and Orilia. Born on April 15th , 1821 at Banagher, King’s County he died unmarried and without issue on 10th January 1895.
F11. Robert Paisley Mulock. Of Colfax, Iowa, United States. Tenth son of William Mulock of Banagher and Orilia. Born on the 8th May 1823 at Banagher, King’s County, he married firstly on 26th October 1852 at Ohio Trap Rock Mine, Lake Superior, Michigan, Mary Anne Conklin, of Chippawa Falls, Canada, of which marriage there was eight children, (G1.) William Paisley; (G2.) Vans; (G3.) Vans L.; (G4.) Henry Robert; (G5.) Sara; (G6.) Mary; (G7.) Homan and (G8.) Ellen. Mary Anne Mulock nee Conklin died on the 14th April 1870 and Robert Paisley Mulock married secondly, on 6th October 1872 Rachel Ann Payn, daughter of Joseph Payn, of Solon, Iowa, U.S.A., and of this marriage there has been a son and daughter, (G9.) Josephine and (G10.) Edwin Hulbert.
G1. William Paisley Mulock. Born on the 23rd September 1853, he married Miss Emily Tomkins on the 8th January 1880. There is one son from this marriage.
H1. William Paisley Mulock.
G2. Vans Mulock (1855-1856). Born on the 27th July 1855, this child died in its infancy on the 11th January 1856.
G3. Vans L. Mulock. Born on 2nd November 1856, he married Miss Carrie Hunter on the 7th March 1886. There is issue of the marriage.
H1. Robert Mulock
H2. Mary Mulock
G4. Henry Robert Mulock (1858-1887). Born on the 30th December 1858, he died unmarried and without issue on the 27th September 1887.
G5. Sara J. Mulock. Born on the 6th May 1861, she married Mr Frank L. McCune on the 6th May 1880 and has two children.
G6. Mary E. Mulock. Born on the 6th October 1863, she married Mr M K Morton on the 1st January 1886 and has two children.
G7. Homan J. Mulock (1866-1895) Born on the 24th January 1866, he died unmarried and without issue on the 28th March 1895.
G8. Ellen E. Mulock. Born on the 8th October 1868, she married Mr S. Marion Kegley on 10th March 1889 and has two children.
G9. Josephine Ray Mulock. Born on the 28th July, 1873, she married Mr Edward S. Kelly on 8th February 1893.
G10. Edwin Hulbert Mulock. Born on the 16th August 1882.
F12. Henry Josias Mulock (1825-1844). Youngest child of William Mulock, of Banagher and Orilia. Born on 4th June 1825, at Banagher, King’s County; he died unmarried and without issue on 30th September 1844. He is buried at Orilia Churchyard
E3. Robert Mulock, the third son of John Mulock, of Dublin, is only known by being a party to a deed dated 1st September 1821, releasing a legacy under the will of his grandfather Rev John Mulock.
E4. (Henry) Vans Mulock, of Lusna, King’s County. Born in 1784 and married Miss Marcella Burke on 6th February 1806, at St. Luke’s Church Dublin. She died without issue prior to July 1836 when he died. His baptismal name appears to have been Vans, but he assumed the name Henry is addition after his marriage.
E5. Thomas Mulock, of Twickenham, King’s County, is named in the will of his aunt Sarah Mulock. He died unmarried and without issue in 1818, having made his will dated 9th May 1811.
E6. Emily Mulock, named in the wills of her grandfather the Rev. John Mulock and her aunt Sarah Mulock, and a party with her brother Robert to the deed of September 1821. She married Mr Horatio Emerson, grandson of Frances Emilia Mulock by his mother Frances Pilkington. Of this marriage there was issue, son and daughter. (F1.) Elizabeth and (F2.) John.
F1. Elizabeth Emerson. She married John Roger North, nephew of Isaac North-Bomford and son of David North of Fairview, Co. Westmeath. They inherited Fairview in 1863.
F2. John Emerson. Of Clonshanny and Deer Park, King’s County. Born on 8th March 1850 he married Mary Jane North-Bomford, daughter of Isaac North-Bomford of Ferrans and a great-granddaughter of Frances Emilia Mulock and Henry Pilkington. There was at least eight issue of the marriage.
MULOCKS OF BELLAIR, KING’S COUNTY - continued
D3. Sarah Mulock, a daughter of Rev. John Mulock, of Bellair, King’s County, by his first marriage, died unmarried in 1806, having made her will, undated, which was proven on 10th January 1806 by her nephew Vans Mulock.
D4. Frances Amelia Mulock, another daughter of the Rev. John Mulock by his first marriage, who married Mr Henry Pilkington III (1756-1810) of Tore, County Westmeath on the 10th May 1778. Of this marriage there was issue, three sons and a daughter, (E1.) Henry; (E2.) Abraham John; (E3.) William Lowe and (E4.) Frances. Frances Amelia predeceased her husband, and in 1789 he married Anne Hamilton, heiress of Edward Pilkington. Both Frances and her husband were interred in the family vault at Newtown Fartullagh. Henry Pilkington was succeeded at Tore House by his eldest son Henry Pilkington. The family of Pilkington is of Saxon origin. At the Battle of Hastings the chief of the family fought on the side of Harold, and on his defeat he disguised himself as a mower to escape from his Norman pursuers. For this event Leonard, who, joined the First Crusade, had a mower in his crest. In the 1600s the family were staunch Royalists and lost much of their property in Lancashire under the Commonwealth. Richard Pilkington had to agree to adjust his estates and accepted extensive property in Co Westmeath and King’s County before 1695, and settled at Tore, Co Westmeath. The name Tore, also spelt Toar, has been changed in recent times to Torr and it lies to the southeast of Tyrrellspass. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
E1. Henry Pilkington IV (1780-1865). Born on 4th November 1780 at Tore House he married Miss Barbara Lang (1790-1864), daughter of the Rev. John Lang, a native of County Antrim on 24th April 1806. Of this marriage there was issue a son, (F1.) Henry Mulock and two daughters, (F2.) Elizabeth and (F3.) Emily Francis. Henry succeeded to Tore House upon the death of his father in 1810. He served as Chairman of the Clonfadforan famine Relief Committee in 1846 and was one of the few landlords of the area to respond to the hardships of his tenants during that period. He reduced the rents of his tenants by 8/- following the failure of the potato crop in that year. He died on 23rd December 1865 at No. 35 Gardiners Place, Dublin and was buried at Newtown Fartullagh. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
F1. Henry Mulock Pilkington QC, LLD DL (1811-1899). Born in 1811, he married Miss Wilhelmina Charity McDonnell, daughter of John McDonnell MD, medical poor law commissioner for Ireland at St. George’s Church, Dublin on 12th May 1855, officiated by the Rev. John Gregg, later Archdeacon of Kildare. Of this marriage there were six sons and a daughter (G1.) Henry Mulock; (G2.) Henry Lionel; (G3.)????; (G4.) George Lawrence; (G5.) Alexander John; (G6.) Robert Rivington and (G7.) Charity Mary. In 1864 he succeeded his father to Tore House. Henry Mulock was a respected member of the Irish Bar and played a prominent part in the framing of the constitution of the Irish Church. For his services he was granted an Honorary Degree of LL.D from Trinity College, Dublin. He resided at 35 Gardiner Place where his sons were born. He died at Tore House on 23rd May 1899 and his remains were interred in the family vault at the end of the ruined church of Newtown Fartullagh. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G1. Henry Mulock Pilkington II. (b. 1856) Born on Easter Monday, March 24th 1856 the eldest son of Henry Mulock Pilkington and Barbara Lang. Appears to have died in infancy. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G2. Colonel Henry Lionel Pilkington C.B., (1857-1914) Son of Henry Mulock Pilkington DL, of Tore, Tyrrell’s Pass, Co. Westmeath, born on Friday 22nd May 1857. Baptised in St.George’s Church, Dublin on 17th June 1857. He married Miss Ellice Esmonde, daughter of the Rt. Hon Sir John Esmonde, 10th Baronet Ballynastragh, Co. Wexford on 23rd June 1896 at the Oratory Brompton, of which marriage there were two daughters (H1.) Ellice Moira Charity Gertrude. Educated at Uppingham School, Queen’s College, Cambridge and RMC Sandhurst. Served in 1st West India Regiment in West Africa, 1881-1882; in 21st Hussars, 1882-1895; commandant Local Forces, Western Australia, 1890; private secretary to late Sir F. Napier Broome, Governor of W. Australia and Barbados; appointed to WA Mounted Infantry for service in S. Africa, 1899; promoted Lieut. -Col to command that corps, 1900 (medal with five clasps, and King's medal with two clasps). In 1900 he was made a Companion of the Order of the Bath. Colonel commanding South African Constabulary, Orange River Colony (retired); Hon. Lieutenant-Colonel Commonwealth Military Forces of Australia. In addition to his military service, the colonel published North Wales: its Wild Story and Scenery (1910); Land Settlement for Soldiers (1911); as well as many articles in reviews and magazines, much journalistic work dealing chiefly with rural development and often signed Patrick Perterras. In retirement he spent his time between the Tore, Co. Westmeath and Llys-Y-Gwynt in Holyhead, North Wales. Colonel Pilkington died on 4th March 1914. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
H1. Ellice Moira Charity Gertrude Pilkington. Eldest daughter of Henry Lionel Pilkington and the Hon. Ellice Esmonde. She was born at No.14 Brechin Place, London and baptised in the Oratory Brompton in which church her parents were married. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G3. Charity Mary Pilkington (1859-1911). Eldest daughter of Mr Henry Mulock Pilkington QC. Born on Tuesday, 3rd May 1859 and baptised in St. George’s Church on 15th June 1859 by the Venerable John Gregg, Archdeacon of Kildare. On 1st February 1894 she married Henry Rudolph Reichel (1856-1931), only surviving son of the Rt. Rev Charles Parsons Reichel, Bishop of Meath at Newtown Fartullagh Church. The future Sir Henry Reichel Kt. became Emeritus Rector and Vice-President of the University College of North Wales. She died in 1911. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G4. Emily Georgina Catherine Pilkington. Second daughter of Mr Henry Mulock Pilkington QC. Born on Monday 4th February 1861 and baptised in St George’s Church, Dublin by the Venerable John Gregg, Archdeacon of Kildare on 8th March 1861. She married Rev. Henry Nathaniel Joly B.A., B.D., son of the Rev. John Swift Joly and Elizabeth Slator, of Tullamore. The Rev. Joly was appointed successively curate of St. Mattias’, Dublin 1889-91, Gorey 1893, Moyliscar 1898-1900. Rector of Caenfadforan with Castletown 1900-16, Layde with Cushendun 1916-7, Agheragall 1917-8, Ballywalter 1918-9, Kilcoo 1919. Incumbent at Kiloo 1919-28. His final appointment was as Rural Dean of Lecale West 1928-40. There was no issue of this marriage.
G5. Alexander John McDonnell Pilkington. Third son of Mr Henry Mulock Pilkington. Born on 17th May 1863 and baptised in St. George’s Church, Dublin on 19th June 1863. His godparents were his great uncle the Rt. Honourable Alexander McDonnell and Judge Longfield. He married firstly Dorothy Craik, adopted daughter of cousin Dinah Mariah Craik in 1887. In 1911 he divorced Dorothy and married his cousin Margaret Wilhelmina Cairns McDonnell, daughter of his mother’s eldest brother.
G6. George Lawrence Pilkington BA, MA (1865-1897) Born on 4th June 1865 at No. 35 Gardiner Place, Dublin. He was baptised at the Parish Church of Newtown Fartullagh by his uncle the Rev. George Phillips D.D. on 6th September 1865. A Church missionary, he left England on 28th October 1896 on board the P & O liner SS Peninsular for Uganda. Whilst there he was much-occupied in his translation of the liturgy into Ugandan for the C.M.S. and the British & Foreign Bible Society. On 11th December 1897 he was killed in battle against the Sudanese and his body was laid to rest in Uganda.
G7. Catherine Anne Isabel Pilkington. Youngest daughter of Mr Henry Mulock Pilkington, born on 6th February 1868 at No. 35 Gardiners Place, Dublin. In consequence of the dangerous illness of her mother she was not baptised until 19th April 1868 at St. George’s Church, Dublin by the Rev. William Eames. On Easter Monday, the 18th April 1892 she married the Rev. William John Theophilus Kittson, late Rector of Ballyburley and afterwards Drumconrath in the diocese of Meath, by the Rev. Canon Russell and Rev Oliver William Walsh Rector of Newtown Fartullagh. The Pilkington family Bible records that the Kittsons sailed for South Africa in 1896.
H1. Child Kittson. Born on Sunday, 23rd April 1893 at Drumconrath Rectory. The child was baptised at Drumconrath Church on 11th May 1893 by the Rev. Benjamin Moffatt, Rector of Carrickmacross. Her godparents were Maunsell Longworth Dames, Charity Mary Pilkington and Margaret McDonnell.
G8. Robert Rivington Pilkington M.P., K.C., B.A. (1870-1942) Youngest son of Henry Mulock Pilkington QC, LLD, DL, of Tore, County Westmeath. Born on the 8th February 1870. On 13th December 1899 he married Ethel, second daughter of Captain Longworth Dames of Greenhill, Edenberry, King’s Co. Educated at Uppingham College and Pembroke College, Cambridge he was called to the English Bar, Lincoln’s Inn, 1893. In 1894, Pilkington emigrated to Western Australia and was admitted as legal practitioner in the territory, 1894-1921. On 22 July 1917, Pilkington was elected to the Legislative Assembly seat of Perth in a by-election occasioned by the resignation of James Connolly, who had been appointed Agent-General for Western Australia in London. He held the seat until the election of 12 March 1921, when he did not contest the seat. Victor Courtney somewhat uncharitably described him as "a tall, austere, aloof English lawyer... quite out of touch with public opinion... He was a dyed-in-the-wool conservative and did not care who knew. I name him as the giver of the most tactless answer to a questioner I have ever heard". Pilkington returned to England later in 1921, and at the 1922 general election he stood unsuccessfully as a Liberal Party candidate for the House of Commons constituency of Dundee. At the 1923 general election he won the seat of Keighley in West Yorkshire, but did not stand again at the 1924 general election. He died at Wimbledon, England, on 30 June 1942, and was cremated at Putney Vale Cemetery. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
H1. Eunice Mina Pilkington. Born on the 18th October [1900?- the year after the marriage] in Perth, Western Australia. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore; see also family Bible entry].
F2. Elizabeth Pilkington. According to the Pilkington family Bible she died on 21st January 1888 at No.45 Upper Mount Street, Dublin and her remains were interred in the family vault at Newtown Low. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
F3. Emily Francis Pilkington. Married the Rev. George Phillips M.A., B.D., D.D. Rector of Sandon, Essex. Phillips was a graduate of Queen’s College, Cambridge and successively served as Assistant Tutor, Dean, Tutor, Censor Theologicus, Hebrew Lecturer, Praelector and later as Vice-Chancellor. Between 1857 and his death the Rev. Phillips served as President of the College. He was an author of mathematics and Oriental languages. Rev. Phillips died at Queen’s Lodge on 5th February 1892 and his remains were laid in the Pilkington family vault at Newtown Fartullagh old church a week later. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
E2. Captain Abraham John Pilkington. Of Kilbride Castle, later known as Whitewell. In 1803 he married Maria McHugo, of County Galway. He had two issue, (F1.) Homan and (F2.) Belinda. Towards the end of the eighteenth century he served as a Captain in the Londonderry Militia. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
F1. Homan Pilkington. Only son of Abraham John Pilkington, he married firstly Jane Lambert and secondly Elizabeth Baker, the widow of Matthew Baker QC. Of his first marriage there was issue. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G1. Henry Pilkington. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G2. Anna Pilkington. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
F2. Belinda Emily Pilkington. She married Isaac North-Bomford and had issue, a daughter (G1.) Mary Jane. She married secondly Colonel Edward Napoleon L’Estrange, eldest son of Francis L’Estrange, 1803 – 1875, F.R.C.S.I., Surgeon of the Antrim Artillery and Catherine Eliza Matthews. Thus Belinda’s great-great-aunt was Anne L’Estrange (Bomford) of Gallow. She died in 1852. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
G1. Mary Jane North-Bomford. She married John Emerson of Clonshanny and Deer Park in the King’s County in May 1850, brother to Elizabeth Emerson and son of Emily Mulock. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
E3. Lieutenant William Lowe Pilkington RN. Died in 1809. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
E4. Frances Pilkington. She married in 1797 John Swift Emerson and had issue, a son (F1.) Horatio. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, PILKINGTON, of Tore].
F1. Horatio Emerson. He married Emily Mulock in 1825, and had two children (G1.) Elizabeth and (G2.) John. Both children and their issue are mentioned latterly.
E5. Edward Pilkington, married in 1818 Eleanor, daughter of Doctor Joshua Bereton, MD, and died in 1836 having had four children.
D5. Thomas Homan Mulock JP (1765-1843). Of Bellair, King’s County, the son of the Rev. John Mulock by his second wife, was born in 1765, and was educated at Ballitore School, which he entered in September 1776. Having served as an active J.P. for King’s County for a number years, he was appointed High Sheriff of the county in 1822. He married in 1803 Miss Catherine Frances Berry, daughter of Thomas Berry, of Eglish Castle, King’s County, but there was no issue of this marriage. He made his will dated 18th October 1841, and after making suitable provision for his wife, he devised his estates to his nephew Thomas Homan Mulock Molloy for his life, with power to limit them to his children for such estates as he should think fit; and he directed his nephew that on becoming entitled to the estates to take the sole name and arms of Homan Mulock. He died on 16th January 1843, aged 78 and was buried at Liss, King’s County. His wife survived him, but died on 2nd June 1845, aged 61, and was also buried at Liss.
D6. Mary Mulock (1778-1828). A daughter of the Rev. John Mulock by his second marriage to Anne Homan, died unmarried and without issue on 31st October 1828, aged 50, and was buried at Liss.
D7. Elizabeth Mulock. The second and youngest daughter of the Rev. John Mulock D.D. by his second marriage to Anne Homan. She married Laurence Bomford Molloy J.P. (1760-1805), of Clonbela, King’s County (See Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY of Clonbela) on 22nd February 1788, he was the son of John Molloy (1725-1803) and Anne Bomford, daughter of Edward Bomford of Hightown. Of the marriage there was issue: (E1.) John Bomford; (E2.) Daniel; (E3.) Anne Homan and (E4.) Thomas Homan Mulock. She died in 1804 and was survived by her husband who died on 31st May 1805. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]. The Clonbela Molloy family assumed the headship of the Clan Molloy following the failure of the male line of the Molloys, Lords of Fircall. They were descended from Art Molloy, son of Conall Molloy, Lord of Fircall, who died in 1599. Art Molloy’s son, Daniel, succeeded to lands in Streamstown (nr. Drumcullen) and Clonbela (south of Kilcormac, King’s County). His son Edward, fled to Spain following the Cromwellian purges of 1651, returning in 1662 upon restoration to his estates. Edward Molloy was succeeded to the estates by his grandson Edward. His death in 1752 saw his son Daniel inherit, though his premature death eight years later saw the Molloy lands fall to his brother John (1725-1803).
E1. Reverend John Bomford Molloy M.A., B.A. (1790-1818). Of Clonbela, King’s County, born in 1790. He entered university at Dublin on 5th October 1806, graduating with B.A. in the Spring of 1811 and M.A. in 1816. Died unmarried and without issue on 14th June 1818, and is interred at Ballyboy Church of Ireland, where the Molloy family vault was located. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
E2. Daniel Molloy (1793-1856). Of Clonbela, King’s County. Born in 1793, the second son of Laurence Bomford Molloy and Elizabeth Mulock. He succeeded to Clonbela on the death of his brother John in 1818 and continued paying rent on the property (as agreed by his great-grandfather Edward with the Attorney-General Malone), until 1839 [NB. The Griffith Valuations of about that date still show O'Connor Malone as owning the land which, at that time, comprised 304 acres of land and 343 acres of bog]. Subsequently in 1856 he bought the Head Rent and purchased the adjoining properties of Cloncarbri and Thordin for £2,210 making it a property of about 1061 acres. In 1846 he was Chairman of the Eglish Barony Famine Relief Committee whose actions saved the lives of a great number of parishioners. He was a magistrate for King's Co. He married Julia Henrietta Higginsonxe "Higginson:Julia Henrietta" (1807-1882), only daughter of Major James Higginson, late of the 10th Regiment of Foot, of Cushendon Lodge, Co. Antrim and sister of Sir James Higginson, at Tore, Tyrrellspass Co. Westmeath on 16th May 1834. Of the marriage there was issue, three sons and four daughters: (F1.) Mary Macaulay, (F2.) Elizabeth Mulock, (F3.) Laurence, (F4.) Anne Homan, (F5.) Harriett, (F6.) James Higginson and (F7.) Laurence Bomford. Daniel Molloy died on 25th April 1856 at Clonbela and was buried at Ballyboy Church of Ireland Cemetery four days later. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]. Mrs Julia Molloy died aged seventy-five in July 1882.
F1. Mary Macaulay Molloy (1835-1869). Eldest child of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. She married Dr. Robert MacDonnell, M.D., F.R.S., President of Irish College of Physicians 1877, second son of John (James) McDonnell, MD of Murlough, Co Down; they lived in Dublin but had no children. She died 8th July 1869 and he subsequently remarried. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
F2. Elizabeth Mulock Molloy (1836-1856), Second child of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. Born at Clonbela in 1836 and died unmarried 8th July 1856 aged 20. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
F3. Laurence Molloy. Third child and first son of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. Died in infancy at Clonbela. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
F4. Anne Homan Molloy. Fourth child and third daughter of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. Born in 1839 at Clonbela, she married as his second wife on 3rd June 1876 Major-General Walter Weldon of Forenaughts, Naas in Co Kildare, formerly o£ the Madras Army. He was born in May 1828, third son of Sir Antony Weldon, 4th Baron, Colonel Madras Army, of Rahinderry, Queen’s Co. The General married his first wife in July 1861 and had five daughters; by Anne Molloy he had one son and two more daughters. He died in 1907 aged 79 and Anne went to live at Craddoxtown near Naas where she was living in 1911. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela Ed. 1912]
F5. Harriett Molloy (1843-1856). Fifth child and fourth daughter of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. was born in 1843 at Clonbela and died in 1856 aged 14. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
F6. James Higginson Molloy (1848-1849). Sixth child and second son of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. Born in 1848 at Clonbela, he died shortly after his first birthday in May 1849. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
F7. Laurence Bomford Molloy J.P., D.L. Seventh child and third son of Daniel Molloy and Julia Henrietta Higginson. Born at Clonbela on 2nd January 1845, as were all his siblings. At the age of eleven he inherited Clonbela following the death of his father and by virtue of being the sole surviving male heir (and Thomas Edward Homan Mulock Molloy having renounced all claims of primogeniture in relation to the Molloy line, on succeeding to the maternal Homan-Mulock estates). Educated at Marlborough College, he served as Ensign in the 69th Regiment of Foot. On 3rd February 1869 he married Amy Frances Gemly, daughter of the Rev. John Gemly, of London, Canada. She died on 14th December 1895 and was survived by four daughters. Their only son died in 1892, resulting in the failure of the Molloy of Clonbela line. According to the 1878 ‘Landowners of Ireland’ Laurence Bomford Molloy had that year land in King’s County (1,061 acres value £390) and in Westmeath (1,421 acres value £819) totaling 2,482 acres. Much of this Westmeath property was Enniscoffey, which the 1854 valuation shows was belonged to Daniel Molloy and passed to his son. This land, once possessed by his ancestor Edward Bomford of Hightown bequeathed to his daughter Anne, became Molloy property upon the marriage of John Molloy and Anne Bomford. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela, Ed. 1912; Crisp’s Visitations of Ireland, 1896].
G1. Son Molloy. Only son of Laurence Bomford Molloy and Amy Frances Gemly, died unmarried and without issue in 1892. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela].
G2. Daughter Molloy. Eldest daughter and second child of Laurence Bomford Molloy and Amy Frances Gemly, married a nephew of Major-General Walter Weldon. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela].
G3. Daughter Molloy. Second daughter and third child of Laurence Bomford Molloy and Amy Frances Gemly, married the Rev. G. Cruddas. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela].
G4. Daughter Molloy. Third daughter and fourth child of Laurence Bomford Molloy and Amy Frances Gemly. No further information known. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela].
G5. Daughter Molloy. Fourth daughter and youngest child of Laurence Bomford Molloy and Amy Frances Gemly, married the eldest son of the Rev. G. Cruddas. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela].
E3. Anne Homan Molloy. Of Clonbela, married in 1818 Lieutenant Alfred Henry L’Estrange of the 7th Royal Fusiliers, a veteran of the Peninsular War. Alfred, brother of Toriano and Hilary L’Estrange, was the eldest son and heir of Lieutenant-General Thomas St. Quintin L’Estrange (1755-c. 1845). General L’Estrange was a veteran of the War of American Independence (1774-83) and the [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]. Anne died a few months after her marriage. Alfred survived his wife by just a year, succumbing to an illness whilst in Paris on 3rd September 1820.
HOMAN-MULOCKS OF BELLAIR, KING’S COUNTY.
E4. Dr. Thomas Edward Homan Mulock Molloy B.A., M.A., M.B., M.D., J.P. (1798-1889), afterwards Thomas Homan-Mulock, of Bellair, King’s County; born on 5th May 1798 and educated at Trinity College, Dublin (B.A. in 1818, M.A. and M.B. 1825 and M.D. in 1826). In pursuance of the provisions in the will of his uncle Thomas Homan Mulock, he assumed by Royal Licence, dated 14th February 1843, the name and arms of Homan-Mulock. He married on 5th February 1828, at Liss in King’s County Frances Sophia Berry (1809-1863), daughter of John Berry, of Cloneen in King’s County. Miss Berry was the granddaughter of Thomas Berry of Eglish Castle in King’s County and Elizabeth Bury, daughter of William Bury, uncle of the 1st Earl of Charleville and direct descendant of King Edward I of England. Of this marriage there was issue, fifteen children: - (F1.) Frances Elizabeth (F2.) Thomas Homan Mulock (F3.) John Berry (F4.) Elizabeth Georgina (F5.) Thomas Lawrence (F6.) Richard Homan (F7.) Mary Mulock (F8.) Lawrence Bomford (F9.) William Bury (F10.) Hester Jane (F11.) Anne Homan (F12.) Henry Pilkington (F13.) Homan (F14.) Francis Berry and (F15.) George Phillips.
Thomas Homan-Mulock was a J.P. for the King’s County and served as High Sheriff for the county in 1849. He died at Bellair, in the 92nd year of his age, on 25th June 1889 and was buried at Liss. His wife Frances Sophia died on 12th August 1863 and was buried at Leghorn in Italy. [Source: Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOLLOY, of Clonbela]
F1. Frances Elizabeth Homan-Mulock (1828-1849), eldest child of Thomas Homan-Mulock, born on the 8th December 1828; she died unmarried and without issue on 4th October 1849. She was buried at Liss.
F2. Thomas Homan Mulock Homan-Mulock (1830-1844). Born on the 8th June 1830, he died on 7th April 1844 and was buried at Liss.
F3. John Berry Homan-Mulock (1832-1885). Born on the 28th April 1832, he married Miss Anna Selina Ormsby, daughter of Lt. Colonel Owen Lloyd Ormsby, of Ballinamore, County Mayo on 21st November 1883 at St. Andrew’s in Dublin. (See Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, ORMSBY, of Ballinamore). He died without issue on 23rd August 1885 and was buried at Kensal Green Cemetery, London.
F4 . Elizabeth Georgina Homan-Mulock (1833-1869). Born on the 16th April 1833, she married Captain Peter MacFarlane Syme (1826-1893), Royal Artillery and afterwards Bengal Royal Artillery at the British Embassy in Florence on 1st June 1858. She died on 5th June 1869 at Bonchurch on the Isle of Wight, leaving issue: - (G1.) Charles and (G2.) Florence Mary.
G1. Charles Mulock Syme CE. Died on 11th February 1883. He married Florence Teresa Bedwell, daughter of Robert Bielsny Bedwell in 1882 in India. Syme was during this time a Civil Engineer with the Public Works Department of India. Of the marriage there was a single child (H1.) Florence Mary.
H1. Florence Mary Syme. Born 1883. On 2nd September 1907 she married Lieutenant Edward Merivale Steward (1881-1947) of the North Staffordshire Regiment. Lt Steward, the son of Rev. Canon Edward Steward, was later Major General E M Steward C.B., O.B.E., C.S.I. of the Indian Army. Steward served in South Africa 1900-02 earning the Queen’s medal with three clasps and the King’s medal with two clasps. During the First World War, he served in France, 1914; Mesopotamia 1916. For his Great War service he earned the trio. In 1919 Steward was posted to Afghanistan where he was Mentioned in Despatches and awarded the OBE. Promoted to the rank of Colonel in July 1929, he was appointed Deputy Director of Supplies & Transport for Northern Command, East Indies in 1930 and promoted to Brigadier in March 1932. That same year he was appointed Deputy Director of Supplies, quartermaster-general’s Branch to the Army in India from 1933, followed by promotion to Major General in February 1934. Upon his retirement in 1937 Major General Steward was made a Companion of the Most Exalted Order of the Star of India, for his services as Director of Supplies & Transport at Army Headquarters, India. In his retirement General Steward served on the Territorial Army Board and in 1939 was made Colonel Commandant, Royal Indian Army Service Corps. During the Second World War, the General did not seek re-appointment, concentrating his efforts with the Territorial Army. Of this marriage there was issue.
I1. Colonel Edward Knyvet Steward R.A., killed in action in Burma on the 24th July 1945 whilst serving with the Royal Corps of Signals. He is buried in the Taukkyan War Cemetery, Burma.
I2. Reginald Steward.
I3. Captain Campbell Steward. R.A.S.C.
G2. Florence Mary Syme. Married Edmond Gore Alexander Holmes (1850-1936) Chief Inspector of Elementary Schools, His Majesty’s Inspectorate of Schools on 22nd June 1880 and had issue, three children. She died in 1927. Of the marriage there was issue, two sons and two daughters
H1. Florence Ruth Holmes. Born on 22nd April 1881.
H2. Robert Arbuthnot Holmes (1883-1883). Born on the 4th June 1883, he died in infancy in August of 1883.
H3. Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Maurice Gerald Holmes G.B.E., C.B.E., K.C.B., C.B. (1885-1964). Born on the 14th June 1885. Only surviving son of Florence Mary Holmes. Married in 1917 Ivy, only daughter of late Brigadier-General Francis. P. S. Dunsford, DSO; Of the marriage there was issue, two daughters. Educated at Wellington College and Balliol College, Oxford he received First Class Honours from the School of Jurisprudence, 1908. Called to Bar, 1909 he entered the Board of Education in the same year. He was successively Director of Establishments, 1923-1926; Principal Assistant Secretary, 1926-1931; Deputy Secretary, 1931-1937; Permanent Secretary, 1937-1945; Chairman. East African Salaries Commission, 1947; Chairman, Colonial Office inquiry into Civil Services of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda; Chairman, Caribbean Public Services Unification Commission, 1948; Chairman Lord Chancellor's Committee on Office of Public Trustee, 1954. In addition to public office, Sir Gerald authored a number of works including Some Bibliographical Notes on the Novels of George Bernard Shaw, 1929; and An Introduction to the Bibliography of Captain Cook, 1936. A veteran of the First World War, Sir Gerald served in France and Egypt 1914-19 and was made a Lieutenant-Colonel in 1917, he was mentioned in Despatches twice, awarded the OBE and the Order of the Nile. In 1919 he received the CBE and was created CB in 1929. Knighted by King George VI in 1938 as a KCB he was invested as a Knight of the Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire in 1946. Sir Gerald Holmes died on 4th April 1964.
I1. Daphne Holmes. She married Keith Bell, a Lieutenant in the Gordon Highlanders.
I2. Barbara Holmes.
H4. Verena Winifred Holmes. Born on 23rd June 1889.
F5. Thomas Lawrence Homan-Mulock (1834-1854). Born on 6th March 1834; died in Sydney, New South Wales on 19th August 1854.
F6. Richard Homan Homan-Mulock. Born on 6th February 1836.
F7. Mary Mulock Homan-Mulock (1838-1878). Born on 4th November 1838, she married firstly Mr George Winton Price (1828-1865), of Nice at the British Embassy in Paris on the 12th September 1864. Mr Price died without issue on 13th December 1865 and was buried in Nice. She married secondly, At St. James’s Church, Piccadilly, London on 20th July 1867 Mr Frederick Pepys Cockerell RA (1833-1878), second son of noted architect Charles Robert Cockerell RA, PRIBA (1788-1863) and a great-great nephew of diarist Samuel Pepys. (See Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, RUSHOUT, Bart.). Frederick Pepys Cockerell had studied architecture in Paris and Italy between 1853-55, exhibiting at the Royal Academy 1854-77. The architect of numerous mansions and churches, he died on 4th November 1878 in Paris, leaving issue: (G1.) Robert Rennie, (G2.) Frances Mary, (G3.) Frederick William, (G4.) Laurence Homan Mulock and (G5.) Anne Hester.
G1. Robert Rennie Pepys Cockerell (1869-1902), Barrister-at-Law. Born on the 29th November 1869, eldest child of Mary Mulock Homan-Mulock by her second marriage to Frederick Pepys Cockerell. He married Violet Helen Montgomery, daughter of Colonel James Alexander Laurence Montgomery C.S.I. on 4th October 1897. He died without issue on the 6th August 1902.
G2. Frances Mary Pepys Cockerell (1871-1944). Second child and eldest daughter of Mary Mulock Homan-Mulock by her second marriage to Frederick Pepys Cockerell. Born at No. 18 Manchester Square on 26th November 1871 and baptised at Quebec Chapel on 19th January 1872. Married Captain Henry Cecil Noel (1868-1931) of the 17th Lancers on 2nd April 1902 at St. George’s, Hanover Square. Captain Noel was the son of the Rt. Hon. Gerard James Noel P.C., of Catmose, Oakham and Lady Augusta Mary, daughter of the Hon. Cecil Lowther, M.P. (See Burke’s Peerage, GAINSBOROUGH, E.). Captain H.C. Noel was appointed to the 17th Lancers at 2nd Lieutenant (2nd May 1888), Lieutenant (31st January 1893) and Captain (25th March 1896). Relegated to the reserve in 1897 at the outbreak of the Great War he was appointed Captain on the General Reserve of Officers, before serving with the 8th Reserve Regiment of Cavalry. Noel served with the Norfolk Yeomanry from 24th January 1915 as Temporary Major. From 26th May 1916 he was Captain with e M.G.C. (Infantry). Joined the R.A.R.O. from November 1922. In retirement her was J.P. for Rutland. Frances divorced him in 1925. She died in Scraptoft, Leicestershire on 17th August 1944 being then of 20 Albert Hall Mansions, S.W.7. She was interred at Hungarton two days later.
G3. Lieutenant-Colonel Frederick William Pepys Cockerell OBE, MC (1876-1932). Third child and second son eldest of Mary Mulock Homan-Mulock by her second marriage to Frederick Pepys Cockerell. Born at Manchester Square on the 10th July 1876 and baptised at Quebec Chapel on 9th August the same year. Educated at Winchester and New College, Oxford. Called to the Bar, Lincoln’s Inn, 1909. In 1896 he had gone out to South Africa and subsequently served with the Imperial Yeomanry and the Rhodesian Field Force in the Boer War 1899-1901 under Plumer. Afterwards he served as A.P.M. to Lord Methuen. For his serve he was awarded the Queen’s Medal with four clasps and the King’s Medal with two clasps. Appointed as District Commissioner for North-West Rhodesia, 1903-07 and Assistant Commissioner for Barotseland, at Sesheke.
During the Great War he was T./ Captain on the General List (26th February 1915) serving as Intelligence Officer at HQ, in France (Aug 1914-October1915), Serbia (October, 1916 – 19th January, 1918), Mesopotamia (22nd February – 21st May 1918), Persia and the Persian Gulf (22nd May – 11th November, 1918). He was A.P.M. at Salonika (21st October 1915) and Mesopotamia (27th April 1918). Appointed Acting Lieutenant-Colonel (Police) at Baku on 25th September 1918, later Lieutenant Colonel, Dunster Force. For his services he was Mentioned in Despatches (London Gazette 17.02.15, 28.11.1917, 21.02.18, 30.04.19 and 05.06.19) and received the 1914 Star, British War Medal and Victory Medal. Followed by the Military Cross (1st January 1918), the Order of the British Empire (1918) and Chevalier of the Order of St. Vladimir & The Redeemer. Appointed Lieutenant-Colonel (Intelligence) on 27th February 1922, with two years seniority. In command of the Upper Silesia Plebiscite Commission.
He married firstly Felicia Louisa Marie Stewart (b.1890), daughter and heir of James Grahame Stewart, of The Grove, Exton, Hants, by Helen Louisa Georgina, daughter of Major Charles David Cunynghame Ellis. She was descended from Stephanie Caroline Anne Syme, known as Pamela, illegitimate daughter of Phillipe Egalite, Duke of Orleans, by Madame de Genlis, and wife of Lord Edward FitzGerald. They divorced on 22nd October 1928. He married secondly at the Savoy Chapel on 17th August 1929, Grace Adele, daughter of Joseph Corbett. Lt. Colonel F.W. Pepys-Cockerell MC, OBE died on 15th March 1932, leaving issue a son (H1.) John Laurence and daughter (H2.) Mary Georgina Felicia, by his first marriage.
H1. Captain John Laurence Pepys Cockerell, F.Z.S. Eldest child of Lt. Colonel Frederick William Pepys Cockerell MC, OBE by his first wife Felicia Louisa Marie Stewart. Born at No. 31 Kensington Square on 18th June 1924 and baptised at St. Mary Abbots, Kensington. Educated at St. Aubyn’s, Rottingdean and Eton. During the Second World War he enlisted with the King’s Royal Rifle Corps (K.R.R.C.) as 2nd Lieutenant (1943) and Lieutenant (1944). He was seconded to the Gold Coast Regimen in 1946 having served in Italy were he was wounded and North Africa on the Gold Coast and Germany. For his service he was awarded the 1939-45 Star, Italy Star and the War Medal. Captain Pepys Cockerell joined the Colonial Service in 1948, training at Trinity College, Oxford and London University. He served on the Gold Coast and later Assistant Government Agent, Salaga, Northern Territories from January 1952. He was a Fellow of the Zoological Society (FZS). On 9th July 1955 he married the Hon. Patricia Mary Gwendolen Hill (1926-1957), daughter of Arthur Fitzgerald Sandys Hill, 6th Baron Sandys.
H2. Mary Georgina Felicia Pepys Cockerell, Architect. Second child and only daughter of Lt. Colonel Frederick William Pepys Cockerell MC, OBE by his first wife Felicia Louisa Marie Stewart. Born at No. 57 Princes Gate on 22nd February 1926 and baptised at Brompton Parish Church. Educated at Southover Manor and Oxford, she was a student at the Architectural Association, 1945. On 14th April 1947 she married Major William Francis Darell St. Clair Smallwood, son of Group Captain H. St. Clair Smallwood RAF. Major Smallwood served with the Intelligence Corps in the Second World War as 2nd Lieutenant (23rd April 1942) and subsequently Major (3rd May 1944). He spent six months as a Prisoner of War in Italy prior to the armistice with the Allies in 1943.
G4. Laurence Homan Mulock Pepys Cockerell, fourth child and third son of Mary Mulock Homan-Mulock by her second marriage to Frederick Pepys Cockerell, born on the 15th October 1878. He entered the Royal Military College as a Gentleman Cadet, passing out as 2nd Lieutenant on 15th February 1898 with appointment to the Princess Charlotte of Wales’s (66th Royal Berkshire Regiment), served in the Boer War 1899-1900; mentioned in despatches, September 1900. Served in Southern Nigeria in the expedition against Aros in 1902 where he was severely wounded. Appointed to the Egyptian Army in 1903. [Source: London Gazette]
G5. Anne Hester Pepys Cockerell (1868-1933). Fifth and youngest child of Mary Mulock Homan-Mulock by her second marriage to Frederick Pepys Cockerell. Married Edward Travers Dames-Longworth J.P., D.L. (1861-1907) Barrister, of Glynwood, Co. Westmeath on the 15th December 1891 and has issue. (See Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, DAMES-LONGWORTH, of Glynwood.). The Dames-Longworth branch was descended from a marriage between John Dames, of Rathmoyle, King’s County and Emilia Wetherall in 1767. Emilia Wetherall was the eldest daughter of Hurd Wetherall and sister of Frances Wetherall, wife of the Rev. John Mulock, of Bellair, in King’s County.
H1. Mary Dames-Longworth (1893-1893). Died in infancy
H2. Hester Frances Dames-Longworth. Born 1894. She married Lt. Colonel Thomas Hassard Montgomery A.S.C., D.S.O., J.P., of Cadogan House, Shrewsbury. Of this marriage there was issue, two daughters: (I1.) Mary Willoughby and (I2.) Anne Radclyffe.
I1. Mary Willoughby Montgomery (later Countess of Bradford). Eldest daughter of Hester Frances Dames-Longworth and Lt. Colonel Thomas Hassard Montgomery D.S.O., J.P., of Cadogan House, Shrewsbury, Shropshire. On 31st October 1946 she married Sir Gerald Michael Orlando Bridgeman T.D., D.L. J.P., (1911-1981) 6th Earl of Bradford, son of Sir Orlando Bridgeman, 5th Earl of Bradford. Her married name became Bridgeman, but as a result of the marriage on 21 March 1957 she was styled Countess of Bradford. Bridgeman served in the Shropshire Yeomanry, Royal Armoured Corps, part of the Territorial Army and reached the rank of Captain. He fought in the Second World War and was decorated with the Territorial Decoration. He succeeded to the Earldom on 21st March 1957. Of the marriage there was issue: (J1.) Richard Thomas Orlando, (J2.) Serena Mary, (J3.) Caroline Louise and (J4.) Charles Gerald Orlando. Mary, Countess of Bradford died in 1986.
J1. Sir Richard Thomas Orlando Bridgeman, 7th Earl of Bradford. The eldest son of Sir Gerald Bridegman and Mary Willoughby Montgomery, born on 3rd October 1947. He married firstly Joanne Elizabeth Miller, daughter of Benjamin Miller, on 15th September 1979. He married secondly Penny Law in August 2008. Of his first marriage there was issue, three sons and a daughter: (K1.) Alexander Michael Orlando, (K2.) Henry Gerald Orlando, (K3.) Benjamin Thomas Orlando and (K4. Alicia Rose. Sir Richard was educated at Harrow School and Trinity College, Cambridge, graduating in 1969 with B.A. He graduated from Trinity College in 1973 with M.A. He was proprietor of Porters Restaurant (1979-2003) at Covent Gardens. He succeeded to the Earldom of Bradford (Est. 1815) on 30 August 1981 in addition to succession to the titles of 12th baronet Bridgeman, of Great Lever, co. Lancaster (Est. 1660), 8th Baron Bradford of Bradford, co. Shropshire (Est. 1794).
K1. Alexander Michael Orlando Bridgeman, Viscount Newport. Eldest son and heir of Sir Richard Bridgeman, 7th Earl of Bradford. Born on 6th September 1980.
K2. Hon. Henry Gerald Orlando Bridgeman. Second son of Sir Richard Bridgeman, 7th Earl of Bradford.
K3. Hon. Benjamin Thomas Orlando Bridgeman. Third son of Sir Richard Bridgeman, 7th Earl of Bradford.
K4. Lady Alicia Rose Bridgeman. Only daughter of Sir Richard Bridgeman, 7th Earl of Bradford.
J2. Lady Serena Mary Bridgeman (1949-2001). Eldest daughter of Sir Gerald Bridgeman, 6th Earl of Bradford and Mary Willoughby Montgomery. On 27th April 1978 she married Richard Arnold Andrew, son of John Ramsay Andrew. She died on 16th January 2001.
J3. Lady Caroline Louise Bridgeman. Second and youngest daughter of Sir Gerald Bridgeman, 6th Earl of Bradford and Mary Willoughby Montgomery, she was born on 18th April 1952. On 5th October 1974 she married Brian Martin Garnell, son of Henry Joseph Garnell.
J4. Hon. Charles Gerald Orlando Bridgeman. Second and youngest son of Sir Gerald Bridgeman, 6th Earl of Bradford and Mary Willoughby Montgomery. Born on 25th June 1954 he married Nicola Marie-Therese Sales, daughter of Brian Sales on 17th January 1982.
I2. Anne Radclyffe Montgomery D.L. Second and youngest daughter of Hester Francis Dames-Longworth and Lt. Colonel Thomas Hassard Montgomery D.S.O., J.P., of Cadogan House, Shrewsbury, Shropshire. On 23rd May 1953 she married Brian John Crichton, son of Colonel Charles W. H. Crichton and Dorothy Maud Dawnay. She held the office of Deputy Lieutenant of Gwynedd in 1989. She died on 11th December 2000. Brian John Crichton was educated at Radley College, Abingdon and Trinity Hall, Cambridge. A chartered land agent by profession, he held the office of High Sheriff of Anglesey in 1967 and was invested an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.) in 1977. They lived at Plas Trefor, Llansadwrn, Menai Bridge, North Wales. Of this marriage there was issue, three daughters: (J1.) Susan Jane, (J2.) Diana Mary and (J3.) Judith Anne.
J1. Susan Jane Crichton (1955-1991). Eldest daughter of Anne Radclyffe Montgomery and Brian John Crichton, born on 10th October 1955. She married Michael Patrick York in 1977 and of this marriage there was issue, two sons: (K1.) Adam Patrick Crichton and (K2.) Nicholas Brian. She died in 1991.
K1. Adam Patrick Crichton York. Born 1980
K2. Nicholas Brian York. Born 1990
J2. Diana Mary Crichton. Second daughter of Anne Radclyffe Montgomery and Brian John Crichton, born on 9th December 1957. She married Richard John Charlton MacMullen, son of James MacMullen in 1984
J3. Judith Anne Crichton. Third and youngest daughter of Anne Radclyffe Montgomery and Brian John Crichton, born on 31st July 1959. She married, firstly, Anthony Wall, son of Lt. Colonel E. Wall, in 1983. She married, secondly, Michael Preece, in June 1996. They live at Ivy House, Leppington, Yorkshire.
H3. Lieutenant Travers Robert Dames-Longworth. Born 1896, a Lieutenant with the Irish Guards.
H4. Pamela Frederica Dames-Longworth. Born 1899, she married Patrick Murphy, a staff journalist with the Evening Post.
H5. Paulina Pepys Dames-Longworth. Born 1904
F8. Lawrence Bomford Homan-Mulock (1840-1863). Born on 23rd January 1840, he died unmarried and without issue on 25th March 1863. He is buried in the churchyard at Liss.
F9. William Bury Homan-Mulock J.P., D.L., I.C.S, (1841-1921). Of Bellair, King’s County. Born on 19th April 1841; educated at Trinity College, Dublin and appointed to the Indian Civil Service in 1862. Served successively in Bombay as Assistant-Registrar of High Court and later Assistant-Magistrate and Collector, 1862-1873; Assistant-Commissioner and Branch Inspector-General of Assurance, and Inspector of Education in Sind, 1873-1876; Collector and Magistrate, 1880; Senior Collector and Magistrate, 1885. In 1885 he chaired the Commission appointed to consider the workings of the factories in the Bombay Presidency. Commissioner, Northern Division, September 1888; retired from the Indian Civil Service in 1889 on succeeding to the family estates under his father’s will. He took possession of Bellair House in 1889 and in retirement he served as Justice of the Peace and Deputy Lieutenant for King’s County, and JP for County Westmeath. In 1895 he served as High Sheriff for the King’s County. He died in 1921 and bequeathed Bellair House to his youngest daughter, Lady Hester Nina Nutting, who refused to accept it and handed it to her niece Sheila Wingfield, Vicountess Powerscourt.
F10. Hester Jane Homan-Mulock (1842-1929). Born 16th November 1842, she married at Marleybone Parish Church, London on 14th November 1865 Mr Alfred Austin B.A., LL.D, D.L. (1835-1913), of Swinford Old Manor, Ashford, Kent, Barrister-at-Law. In his Autobiography, Austin gives a curious account of their first meeting with her. Seeing the photograph of a young lady in an album belonging to a friend in Florence, he had asked: ‘Who is that?’ and received the reply, ‘The girl you ought to marry, if you can.’ Austin brought home a letter of introduction, the presentation of which led to his receiving at his cottage in Hertfordshire two of the Misses Mulock and their chaperon, together with their friend TA Trollope, brother of Anthony. At the second visit Hester became engaged to Alfred. Throughout his career as journalist and writer Austin derived constant help and support from his wife. She died suddenly on 23rd September 1929 at her residence in Kensington. [Source: Obituaries, The Times, 24th September 1929]
The nephew of railway engineer and MP, Joseph Locke, Alfred Austin was born on 30th May 1835, at Headingly, near Leeds. Following study at London University, (Oxford & Cambridge was almost impossible to enter, because of his Roman Catholic faith) he was called to the Bar of the Inner Temple in 1851. Between 1866-1896 he was a Foreign Affairs Correspondent with the London Standard, and served as a special correspondent to The Ecumenical Council of the Vatican in 1870; at the Headquarters of the King of Prussia during the Franco-Prussian War, 1870; at the Congress of Berlin, 1878 where he was granted an audience by German Chancellor Otto von Bismarck. In 1883 he co-founded the National Review with W J Courthope and served as joint-editor until 1893 and sole editor until 1896.
As a pot Austin never ranked highly in the opinions of his peers, often derided as being a ‘Banjo Byron’. In 1896 he was appointed Poet Laureate in succession to Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Many saw this as a political rather than literary appointment, due to Austin’s steadfast support for Disraeli and his personal friend Lord Salisbury, the Prime Minister. Austin continued to serve as Poet Laureate until his death in 1913. During his lifetime Austin served as Deputy-Lieutenant for the county of Hereford. [Source: Obituaries, The Times, 3rd June 1913]
F11. Anne Homan Homan-Mulock (1844-1926), born on the 26th April 1844 in King’s County, Ireland she married Mr Arthur Challis Kennard J.P. (1831-1903), of 17 Eaton Place, London and later Justice of the Peace for Stirlingshire, Scotland. They married at St James’s Church, Piccadilly, London on the 27th February 1866. Of the marriage there was issue, two sons and two daughters: (G1.) Arthur Molloy, (G2.) Nina Frances, (G3.) Hester Charlotte and (G4.) Howard William.
G1. Major Arthur Molloy Kennard D.S.O., R.H.A., J.P. D.L. (1867-1917). Of Kersehill, Falkirk in Scotland. Born on 7th July 1867 in London, he entered the Royal Artillery in 1886; promoted to Captain in 1897 and Major in 1900. Served in the South African or Boer War 1899-1902, during which time he was awarded despatches, Queen’s medal, 3 clasps, King’s medal, 2 clasps and the Distinguished Service Order (1900). In 1912 he married Evelyn Mary, widow of Lt. Charles Herbert (or Helbert), RWT and only daughter of Lord David Kennedy, there is one son of this marriage, (H1) David Arthur Kennard. At the outbreak of the First World War he commanded the 179th Brigade Royal Field Artillery in France; promoted to temporary Lt. Colonel commanding 95th Brigade Royal Field Artillery, 21st Div, part of Kitchener’s 3rd Army in 1915. Wounded at the Battle of Loos, September 1915.
H1. Major David Arthur Kennard MC & Bar (1916-1990). Late of the Coldstream Guards, retired from active service in 1955. Only child of Major Arthur Molloy Kennard DSO. Born on 4th January 1916, in 1952 he married Miss Prudence Elizabeth Struan of Kirkcaldy, Scotland. An amateur cameraman, he made a number of cine films of the Middle East from circa 1936. Lost in Egypt during the Second World War, they resurfaced in the 1960s in Alexandria and were returned to him. Following his death in 1990, the films were deposited with the Imperial War Museum in London. Major Kennard had issue, two sons and a daughter (I1.) Rodney; (I2.) Andrew and (I3.) Susan.
I1. Rodney Grange Kennard. Born in 1953, eldest son of Major David Arthur Kennard MC & Bar.
I2. Andrew David Kennard. Born in 1956, he married Sheila Mary Robertson in 1989. Of the marriage there is issue:
J1. Hubert John Kennard (b.1991)
J2. Arabella Roma Kennard (b.1994)
J3. Alexander David Kennard (b.1998)
I3. Susan Evelyn Kennard. Born in 1959
G2. The Rt. Hon Sir Howard William Kennard G.C.M.G., K.C.M.G., C.M.G., C.V.O (1878-1955). Second son of Arthur Challis and Anne Homan Kennard. Born in Brighton on 23rd March 1878 and educated at Wixenford and Eton. Married Miss Harriet Norris (d. 1950), daughter of Jonathan Norris of New York in 1908. There is one son of this marriage. Entered the Diplomatic Service in 1901, serving successively in Rome, 1902; 3rd Secretary, 1903; Tehran, 1904; 2nd Secretary, 1907; transferred Washington, 1907; Chargé d'Affaires, Havana, 1911; transferred Tangier, 1912; 1st Secretary, 1914; transferred Foreign Office, 1916; to Rome, 1919. British Minister in Yugoslavia, 1925-1929; Sweden, 1929-1931; Switzerland, 1931-1935. Appointed the British Ambassador to Poland 1935-1939, objecting to any polish support of Hitler’s aggression or racialism, he obtained the Anglo-Polish alliance in 1939 and joined the Polish government in exile until 1941. Made a Companion of the Most Glorious Order of St. Michael and St. George and a Commander of the Victorian Order by King George V in 1923; appointed Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George in 1929 and promoted to Knight of the Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire in 1938. Died on 12th November 1955.
H1. Arthur Norris Kennard, B.A., F.S.A. (1911-1995). The only child of Sir Howard William Kennard, he was educated at Eton and Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. After graduating he spent three years working voluntarily at the Wallace Collection as assistant to the Sir James Mann, P.S.A., in the preparation of Part III of his Catalogue of European Arms and Armour, started in 1920; the entries for firearms were all written by Kennard. His interest in arms and armour had begun in childhood when his father’s diplomatic appointments enabled him to travel throughout Europe and the Middle East and to lay the foundations of a very personal collection of armour, weapons and firearms. He spent the Second World War in the Welsh Guards and the Intelligence Corps and, on demobilisation, was appointed by Mann, who was then Master of the Tower of London Armouries, as his assistant master. In 1972 he published a useful collector’s guide to French Pistols and Sporting Guns of the seventeenth to nineteenth centuries, and this was followed in retirement by Gunfounding and Gunfounders: a Directory of Cannon Founders from Earliest Times to 1850 (1986), a work which occupied him for many years. It proved of immense value to museum curators and collectors and is still a reference source for military historians. Kennard was a liveryman of the Gunmaker’s Company, a member of the Meyrick Society and a founder member of the Rowland Club.
In 1940 Kennard married Lee Washington, daughter of Mr. Horace Lee Washington. A part from collecting arms and armour, Kennard was also a connoisseur of vintage cars and, up to his last years, drove a 1927 three litre Bentley. Until he moved to Bath he spent many hours in the Society of Antiquaries of London, having been elected a Fellow of the Society in 1950. Kennard’s private collection was sold at Christie’s in March 1996 after his death on 9th July 1995.
G3. Nina Frances Kennard. Born in 1872 in London. In 1896 she married James August Grant, later Sir James Grant M.P., J.P., D.L. (1867-1932), 1st Baronet and son of African explorer Colonel James Augustus Grant C.B., C.S.I., F.R.S. (1827-1892) of Househill, Nairn, second in command of the 1860-63 Speke expedition to East Africa and a veteran of the Indian Mutiny. Of the marriage there was two daughters, (H1.) Margaret Nina Sophie and (H2.) Hester Mary. Sir James, as created in 1926, was Conservative Parliamentary candidate Elgin Burghs, 1892; Banffshire, by-election, 1893; Banffshire, 1895; Banffshire, 1906; elected as MP (C) Egremont Division of Cumberland, 1910-1918; Whitehaven Division, 1918-1922; Derbyshire South, 1924-1929; County Councillor, Nairnshire, 1907; JP Cumberland.
H1. Margaret Nina Sophie Grant. Born in 1897, she married Captain the Hon. Anselm William Edward Guise (1888-1970), only surviving son of the 5th Baronet of Elmore Court, Gloucestershire and an officer in the Royal Gloucestershire Hussars in 1924. In 1920 Captain Guise succeeded his father to become 6th Baronet. Eton educated, Sir Anselm Guise served as High Sheriff for Gloucestershire in 1926. Of the marriage there was three issue, (I1.) Philippa Margaret; (I2.) John Grant and (I3.) Christopher James.
I1. The Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. Eldest child of Sir Anselm and Lady Margaret Guise of Elmore Court, Gloucestershire. She married Major Alastair Hugh Joseph Fraser MC (1919-1986), a holder of the Military Cross in 1950. Of this marriage there was issue, four sons and two daughters.
J1. Alastair James Fraser. Born on 1951, eldest son of Major Alastair Fraser and the Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. In 1982 he married Elizabeth Von Warfburg, of the marriage there is issue, a daughter.
K1. Victoria Alexandre Fraser. Only child of Alastair and Elizabeth Fraser, born in 1982.
J2. Roderick Joseph Fraser. Born in 1954, the second son of Major Alastair Fraser and the Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. In 1981 he married the Hon. Mary Jean Strutt, daughter of the Hon. Charles Richard Strutt. Of the marriage there is issue.
K1. Charles Alastair Fraser (b. 1982)
K2. Harry Edward Fraser (b. 1984)
K3. Caroline Mary Fraser (b. 1988)
K4. Georgina Fraser (b. 1990)
J3. Christopher James Fraser. Third son of Major Alastair Fraser and the Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. Born in 1954, he married Sarah Louise Gladwin, daughter of Mr J.H. Gladwin in 1982. Of the marriage there is issue, one son and one daughter.
K1. Sandy John Fraser (b. 1988)
K2. Angelica Isabel Fraser (b. 1987)
J4. Peter Anselm Fraser. Youngest son of Major Alastair Fraser and the Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. Born in 1957, he married Antonia Hope Gibbon, daughter of Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Holroyd Gibbon OBE, of Sutton, West Sussex in 1984. Of this marriage there is issue, two sons.
K1. James Anselm Fraser (b. 1986)
K2. Thomas Alastair Fraser (b. 1987)
J5. Arabella Mary Fraser. Eldest daughter of Major Alastair Fraser and the Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. Born in 1959, she married the Hon. Joshua Charles Vanneck (b. 1954), later 7th Baron Huntingfield. Of this marriage there is issue, four sons and a daughter.
K1. The Hon. Gerard Charles Alastair Vanneck (b. 1985)
K2. The Hon. Vanessa Clare Vanneck (b. 1987)
K3. The Hon. John Errington Vanneck (b. 1988)
K4. The Hon. David Guise Vanneck (b. 1990)
K5. The Hon. Richard Fraser Vanneck (b. 1990)
J6. Sophia Margaret Fraser. Youngest daughter of Major Alastair Fraser and the Hon. Philippa Margaret Guise. Born in 1964, she married Mr Robin Yates in 1992.
I2. Captain Sir John Grant Guise, 7th Baronet. Born on the 15th December 1927 and educated at Winchester and Sandhurst. A regular officer with the 3rd King’s Own Hussars from 1948-1961 he succeeded to the baronetcy in 1970. On 14th October1992 he married Sally Stevens, daughter of the late Commander H.G.C. Stevens RN. There is no issue of the marriage.
I3. The Hon Christopher James Guise. Born on 10th July 1930, in 1969 he married Mrs Carole Hoskins Benson. He is the current heir to the Guise baronetcy.
H2. Hester Mary Grant. Youngest daughter of Sir James Grant, Bart. Born in 1899. She married Captain William Darley Bridge MC, of the 1st Battalion Coldstream Guards.
G4. Hester Charlotte Kennard (1878-1945). Born in Eaton Place, London, the youngest daughter of Arthur Challis and Anne Homan Kennard. On 27th April 1904 she married the Hon. Alastair MacPherson-Grant F.R.G.S., D.L. (1874-1949), eldest son of Sir George MacPherson-Grant, 3rd Bart. Of Ballindalloch Castle. Alastair MacPherson-Grant served with the Foreign Office and then in the Sudan Government Service and was later awarded a Fellowship of the Royal Geographical Society. Of the marriage there was issue, three daughters.
H1. Nina Marion MacPherson-Grant, later Her Grace the Baroness Deramore C.St.J., O.B.E. (1907-1979). Born on 16th September 1907, the eldest daughter of the Hon. Alastair MacPherson-Grant. Made a Companion of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem and an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1956 by Queen Elizabeth II. On 14th November 1929 she married Squadron Leader the Hon. Sir Stephen Nicholas de Yarburgh-Bateson RAFVR, Bart. (1903-1964), eldest surviving son of the 4th Baron Deramore. In 1943 he succeeded his father as 5th Baron Deramore. There was one daughter of the marriage; the Barony of Deramore was inherited by the Hon, Richard Arthur de Yarburgh-Bateson, brother to the late Baron. (See Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, DERAMORE, Baron).
I1. The Hon. Jane Faith de Yarburgh-Bateson, later Her Grace the Baroness Mowbray, Segrave & Stourton (1933-1988). The only child of Squadron Leader Sir Stephen de Yarburgh-Bateson, afterwards 5th Baron Deramore. Born in 1933 she married the Hon. Charles Edward Sourton CBE (b. 1923) son of William Marmaduke Stourton, 25th Baron Mowbray, 26th Baron Segrave and 22nd Baron Stourton, MC on 26th June 1952, of the marriage there is issue two sons. Succeeded his father as 26th Baron Mowbray in 1965. During the Second World War the future Baron Mowbray was commissioned into the Grenadier Guards (1942) and served with the 2nd Armoured Battalion of the Grenadier Guards as a Lieutenant (1943-44). Wounded in France in 1944, which resulted in the loss of an eye, he was invalided in 1945. A Conservative Whip in House of Lords, 1967–70, 1974–78; a Lord in Waiting (Govt Whip), and spokesman for DoE, 1970–74; Dep. Chief Opposition Whip in House of Lords, 1978–79; a Lord in Waiting (Govt Whip), 1979–80. Elected to the House of Lords, 1999. Knight of Honour and Devotion, SMO Malta, 1947, Bailiff Grand Cross and Senator, Constantinian Order of St George (Parma), 2001.
J1. The Hon. Edward William Stephen Stourton. Eldest son and heir of the Baron Mowbray, Segrave & Stourton. Born on the 17th April 1953, he married Penelope Brunet, eldest daughter of Dr. Peter Brunet in 1980. Of the marriage there is issue, one son and four daughters.
J2. The Hon. James Alastair Stourton. Youngest son of the Baron Mowbray, Segrave & Stourton, born on the 3rd July 1956.
H2. Susan Hester MacPherson-Grant. Born on 18th March 1910, the second daughter of the Hon. Alastair MacPherson-Grant.
H3. Anne Frances MacPherson-Grant. Born on 10th October 1914, the youngest daughter of the Hon. Alastair MacPherson-Grant. On 2nd September 1939 she married Lieutenant-Colonel William Dalison Keown-Boyd O.B.E., an officer with the 60th Rifles, eldest son of Sir Alexander William Keown-Boyd K.B.E., C.M.G., C.B.E., O.B.E. (1884-1954) former Director General Foreign Affairs to the Egyptian Government.
F12. Henry Pilkington Homan-Mulock I.C.S., (1846-1923) twelfth child of Thomas-Homan-Mulock or Bellair, King’s County. Born on 8th January 1846 and educated at Trinity College, Dublin. Appointed to the Indian Civil Service in 1864; served in North West Provinces as Assistant-Collector and Magistrate 1865-1878; Deputy-Collector, 1878; District and Sessions Judge, 1886; retired in 1895.
F13. Homan Homan-Mulock (1847-1861). Thirteenth child of Thomas Homan-Mulock of Bellair, King’s County, born on 3rd March 1847, he died unmarried and without issue on 21stApril 1861. He was buried in the English cemetery at Florence, Italy.
F14. Francis Berry Homan Mulock I.C.S., J.P. Of Ballycumber, King’s County. Fourteenth child of Thomas Homan-Mulock of Bellair, King’s County. Born on the 25th July 1848, educated at the Royal School, Enniskillen, and Trinity College, Dublin. Appointed to the Indian Civil Service in 1869, serving in North Western Provinces as Assistant-Magistrate and Collector, and Joint-Magistrate 1871-1886; on special duty at Imperial assemblage at Delhi, 1876; Assistant-Commissioner, 1886; Joint-Magistrate, Ballia, 1887; Deputy Commissioner at Lucknow, 1889; Magistrate and Collector, 1890; Commissioner at Fyzabad, 1896. Retired from the Indian Civil Service in 1898 and purchased the Ballycumber Estate in King’s County. Served as Justice of the Peace for King’s County and High Sheriff in 1902. On 4th August 1878 he married at Bhavghulpore, Bengal in India Miss Ethel Annie Braddon, daughter of the Right Hon. Sir Edward Braddon, P.C., K.C.M.G., Premier of Tasmania and author of the Australian Constitution. Of this marriage there was issue, one son and two daughters.
G1. Frances Ethel Homan Mulock F.R.Ph.S (1879-1963), Eldest daughter of Francis Berry Mulock, of Ballycumber, King’s County who on 16th October 1900 married Captain Claude Beddington (1868-1940), of South Street, Park Lane, London. Captain later Lieutenant-Colonel Beddington was, at this time serving with the Westmoreland and Cumberland Imperial Yeomanry. Elected a Fellow of the Royal Philharmonic Society of London. In 1929, as Mrs Claude Beddington she published Book of reminiscences, All that I have Met. In later life she resided at 11 Welbeck House, Welbeck Street, London. She died on 19th December 1963. Of the marriage there was issue, two sons and a daughter. Colonel Beddington was killed whilst on active duty with the Royal Navy during the Second World War. Beddington was in command of the 98-ton HMY Orca, formerly his private yacht, the Cachalot. The sailing vessel was requisitioned by the Admiralty and Beddington given command. Departing Brixham, three days later Orca was five miles off the Welsh coast when two enemy aircraft swooped down and machine-gunned the vessel. The decks were heavily strafed, Beddington, standing at the helm, was killed instantly. The remaining crew of five was unharmed. Orca was formally purchased in November 1941 and served as an accommodation ship until February 1943. [Source: Merchant Navy War Memorial, Tower Hill]
H1. Guy Claude Beddington (1902-1925). Born 2nd February 1902 and succumbed to Tuberculosis, whilst in Munich, Germany in 1925.
H2. Sheila Claude Beddington afterwards Her Grace the Baroness Powerscourt & Wingfield (1906-1992). Born on 23rd May 1906, only daughter of Lt. Colonel Claude Beddington, she married on 28th August 1932, Major the Hon. Mervyn Patrick Wingfield, (1905-1973), great-grandson of the Earl of Leicester and Chief Commissioner for Scouts in Eire. Succeeded his father as 9th Baron Powerscourt, of Powerscourt, Co. Wicklow, and Baron Wingfield, of Wingfield, Co. Wexford. The Baroness was created Chief Commissioner of the Irish Girl Guides. (See Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, POWERSCOURT, Baron). Of the marriage there was issue, one daughter and two sons.
I1. The Hon. Grania Sybil Enid Wingfield, afterwards Lady Langrishe. Eldest child of the 9th Viscount Powerscourt, of Powerscourt, Co. Wicklow, The Rt. Hon Mervyn Patrick Wingfield. Born on 25th April 1934 she married Sir Hercules Ralph Hume Langrishe, 7th Baronet, and heir of Sir Terence Hume Langrishe on 21st April 1955. (See Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, LANGRISHE, Bart.).
J1. Sir James Hercules Langrishe, Bart. Eldest son of Sir Hercules Langrishe, Bart. And Grania Sybil Enid, daughter of the 9th Viscount Powerscourt. Born on 3rd March 1957, he succeeded his father as 8th Baronet. The Langrishe Baronetcy was created in 1777 with the family residing until recent times at Knocktopher Abbey, Co. Kilkenny. (See Burke’s Peerage and Baronetage, LANGRISHE, Bart.).
I2. The Rt. Hon. The Viscount Powerscourt. Eldest son of the 9th Viscount Powerscourt, born Mervyn Niall Wingfield on 3rd April 1935. Succeeded his father in 1973 as 10th Viscount. Educated at Trinity College, Cambridge and joined the Irish Guards as a 2nd Lieutenant. He married firstly, Wendy Ann Pauline, daughter of Ralph Chivas Golly Slazenger, of Powerscourt, County Wicklow on 15th September 1962. The marriage was dissolved 1974. From this marriage there was one son and one daughter. Viscount Powerscourt married secondly in 1979 Pauline Van, daughter of Mr. W. P. Van, of San Francisco, California.
J1. The Hon. Mervyn Anthony Wingfield. Born on 21st August 1963, eldest son of the 10th Viscount Powerscourt, of Powerscourt, Co. Wicklow
I3. The Hon. Guy Claude Patrick Wingfield. Youngest son of the 9th Viscount Powerscourt, born on the 5th October 1940.
H3. Niall Alfred Claude Beddington (1912-1935). Youngest child of Lieutenant-Colonel Claude Beddington. Born in 1912, he died in Switzerland on 6th January 1935 when he skied into the path of an oncoming train. He was killed instantly.
G2. Edward Homan Mulock (1881-1946). Only son of Francis Berry Homan Mulock JP, of Ballycumber, King’s County. Born on 20th October 1881 and educated at Wellington College and St. John’s College, Oxford*. Appointed as a Student Interpreter for the Consular Service in the Ottoman Dominions, Persia, Greece and Morocco on 17th October 1904 (London Gazette 1st November 1904). Successive appointments included: HM Vice-Consul at Alexandria, 1st January 1910 (London Gazette 18th January 1910); HM Vice-Consul at Saffi, 11th March 1912 (London Gazette 26th March 1912); HM Vice-Consul at Laraiche, 28th November 1913 (London Gazette 9th January 1914); HM Commercial Agent for Egypt 14th May 1919 (London Gazette 27th June 1919); HM Commercial Secretary for Egypt and the Sudan, 12th February 1924 (London Gazette 22nd February 1924); Commercial Secretary to HM Legation, Budapest, 4th May 1929 (London Gazette 31st May 1929); HM Commercial Secretary at British Embassy, Rome with local commission as commercial counsellor, 1st August 1931 (London Gazette 18th September 1931). Edward Homan-Mulock retired from the Consular Service in 1932 and died in 1946. He married Elsie Mabel Henderson, daughter of Henry Joseph Henderson of the Indian Imperial Police Force.
*Other source states he was educated at Trinity College, Cambridge???????
G3. Hester Nina Homan Mulock, afterwards Lady Nutting. Youngest daughter of Francis Berry Homan Mulock JP, of Ballycumber, King’s County, born in 1882. On 6th August 1913 she married the Hon. Harold Stansmore Nutting (1882-1972), eldest son of Sir John Gardiner Nutting, Bart., J.P., D.L. Succeeded his father in 1918 as Sir Harold Nutting, D.L. 2nd Baronet. Of the marriage there were three sons, two killed on active service and one surviving son. Sir Harold served in France as Captain of the 17th Lancers 1914-18; and was afterwards Lieutenant-Colonel commanding Leicestershire Battalion. For a period, Sir Harold served as ADC to the Governor-General of Australia. Lady Hester died in 1961.
H1. Captain the Hon. John Victor Francis Nutting (1914-1940). Eldest son of Sir John Nutting, Bart. Born on 10th June 1914, he was a godson of Her Royal Highness the Princess Helena Victoria. A Captain in the Royal Scots Greys, 2nd Dragoons, Royal Armoured Corps. The Captain was killed on active service on 18th November 1940 and his body was cremated at Woking (St. John’s) Crematorium.
H2. Captain the Hon. Edward Christian Frederick Nutting (1917-1943). Second son of Sir John Nutting, Bart. Born on the 9th September 1917, he was a godson of Her Royal Highness the Princess Christian. A Captain with the Royal Horse Guards, he was killed on active service in the Middle East on 21st January 1943. In 1939 he married Lady Rosemary Alexandre Eliot, eldest daughter of the Earl of St. Germans. There was one child of this marriage. Captain Nutting’s body is interred at the Heliopolis War Cemetery, Cairo, Egypt.
I1. The Hon. Davina Rosemary Enid Nutting. Born on 8th August 1940. Only child of Captain the Hon. Edward Christian Frederick Nutting and granddaughter of the Earl of St. Germans.
H3. The Rt. Hon. Sir Harold Anthony Nutting, Bart. P.C., M.P., (1920-1999). Of St. Helen’s Co. Dublin. Youngest and surviving son of Sir Harold Stansmore Nutting, 2nd Bart. Succeeded to the baronetcy in 1972. Born on 11th January 1920, he married firstly Gillian Leonora Joliffe Strutt, daughter of Edward Joliffe Strutt, of Hatfield Peverel, Essex. Of this marriage which was dissolved in 1959 there was issue two sons and a daughter. Secondly, he married in 1961 Anne Gunning, daughter of Arnold Parker, Cuckfield, Sussex. Thirdly, in 1991 he married Margarita, daughter of Carlos Sanchez.
Educated at Eton and Trinity College, Cambridge, he joined the Leicestershire Yeomanry at the outbreak of the Second World War, invalided out in 1940. Attached to HM Foreign Service on special duties, firstly as an attaché at the British Embassy in Paris, 1940 then Madrid where he organised the escape for allied troops caught behind enemy lines 1940-44; served later at the British Embassy in Rome, 1944-45. Elected Conservative MP for the Melton Division of Leics, 1945-56. Created Privy Councillor, 1954; Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, 1951-54; Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, 1954-56. Leader, British Delegation to UN General Assembly and to UN Disarmament Commission, 1954-56. Chairman: Young Conservative and Unionist Movement, 1946; National Union of Conservative and Unionist Associations, 1950; Conservative National Executive Cttee, 1951. In 1954 he negotiated the final steps of the treaty with President Gamal Abdel Nasser of Egypt under which British troops withdrew from Suez; so when he discovered the joint British and French invasion plan at a meeting on the 14th October 1956 he believed that the mission was mistaken and deceitful. On the 31st October, after failed attempts by future Prime Minister Harold Macmillan, to persuade him not to he resigned his post as Deputy Foreign Secretary but for security reasons, he did not give the customary resignation speech to the House of Commons, and his unexplained action proved so unpopular that his constituents forced him to give up his seat in Parliament.
After Suez Sir Anthony kept his silence over the Suez Crisis until 1967 when in his book No End of a Lesson, he explained that backing the Suez action would have put him in the position of lying to the House of Commons and the United Nations. "Either I had to tell the whole story as I saw it, or say nothing at all," he wrote. "And as long as any of the chief protagonists of the Suez war still held high office in Britain it would clearly have been a grave disservice to the nation, which they still led and represented in the councils of the world, to have told the whole story." The Suez Crisis had caused so much bitterness that even eleven years after his resignation he came under pressure from the Cabinet Secretary not to proceed and there was even a threat of prosecution under the Official Secrets Act.
In addition to politics, Sir Harold Nutting wrote a number of books including I Saw for Myself, (1958); Disarmament, (1959); Europe Will Not Wait, (1960); Lawrence of Arabia, (1961); The Arabs, (1964); Gordon, Martyr and Misfit, (1966); No End of a Lesson, (1967); Scramble for Africa: the Great Trek to The Boer War, (1970); Nasser, (1972). Sir Harold Anthony Nutting died on 24th February 1999.
He was an internationalist, an early enthusiast for British membership of the European Economic Community and an Arabist who was a founding member of the Council for the Advancement of Arab-British Understanding (CAABU) in 1967. Despite remaining a political outcast for the rest of his life, Nutting remained highly regarded in geo-political circles. In the words of the political writer Peter Kellner: "He belonged to, and was set fair to lead, a new generation of post-war Tories: moderate, inclusive and internationalist. He preferred the spirit of the United Nations Charter to the ethos of empire. He understood earlier than most of his contemporaries that Britain needed to find a new role in the world."
I1. Sir John Grenfell Nutting 4th Bart., Q.C. Of St. Helen’s Co. Dublin. Eldest son and heir of Sir Harold Anthony Nutting, 3rd Bart. Born on 28th August 1942, he succeeded his father in 1999. Educated at Eton and McGill University, Montreal, Canada (BA 1964). A Barrister at the Middle Temple, 1968; Bencher 1991; member of the Senate Inns of Court and Bar 1976080, 1986-87; Vice-Chairman Criminal Bar Association, 1995-97; member of the Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Legal Education and Conduct, 1997; 1st Senior Treasury Counsel, 1993-95; Judge Courts of Appeal for Jersey and Guernsey, 1995-; Chairman Young Bar 1978-79; Junior and Senior Treasury Counsel Central Criminal Courts 1981-93; Recorder Crown Court, 1986; Deputy High Court Judge 1998-; Residing at Chicheley Hall, Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire.
I2. The Hon David Anthony Nutting. . Youngest son of Sir Harold Anthony Nutting, 3rd Bart and heir to baronetcy. Born on 13th September 1944.
I3. The Hon. Zara Nina Nutting. Only daughter of Sir Harold Anthony Nutting, Bart. Born on the 4th February 1947.
F15. George Phillips Homan Mulock M. Inst. C.E. (1851-1898), Railway Civil Engineer. Fifteenth and youngest child of Dr. Thomas Homan-Mulock, of Bellair, King’s County. Born on 16th July 1851 at Bellair House. Educated at King’s College, London he served on Metropolitan Railway under R.H. Burnett in 1872 and articled to Sir John Hawkshaw M.Inst.C.E., 1874-76; placed under Mr William Hunt, Resident Engineer on construction of East London Railway. Appointed Assistant Resident Engineer and subsequently Resident Engineer in charge of construction of Fleetwood Docks for Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Co., under Sir John Hawkshaw. Upon completion of works in 1878, appointed District Engineer for Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Co and the London & North Western Railway Co. on the Preston and Wyre lines. This appointment he held until his death in 1898. During his tenure as District Engineer 1878-98, works included erection of a grain elevator at Wyre Docks, new station building, warehouses, quays, locomotive sheds and shops at Fleetwood, widening of the four lines along 9 miles of Preston & Wyre railway. He constructed new and diverted old lines at Poulton, erected Talbot Rd. station at Blackpool, carried out work on dock and harbour at Fleetwood including the dredging operations at the port. Elected an Associate Member of the Institute of Civil Engineers on 16th January 1877, he was elevated to Member on 21st November 1893. In 1877 he married Miss Clara Frances Lugsdin (1858-1882), daughter of Government Clerk William Lugsdin, at St. Giles’s Church, Islington, London and of the marriage there was issue, three daughters and a son. Clara Frances died on 24th March 1882. He married secondly Miss Jane Elizabeth Collister, daughter of Captain James Collister, master mariner at Fleetwood on 26th October 1883. Of this marriage there was issue, a son. George P Mulock died on 16th March 1898.
G1. Clara Frances Mulock (1878-1940). Eldest child of George Philips Mulock by his first marriage to Clara Frances Lugsdin. Born at the family home of 120 Stanley Terrace, Blackpool on the 13th April 1878. On 27th February 1901 she married Mr William Brown, a Master Lithographer. Of this marriage there was issue, two sons and a daughter, (H1.) William Mulock; (H2.) Eric and (H3.) Gretchen. William Brown died at Poulton-Le-Fylde on the 7th February 1942 and Clara died at Blackpool on 7th August 1940.
H1. William Mulock Brown (1902-1956), Aeronautics Engineer. Born on the 16th January 1902 in Preston, Lancashire, the eldest son of William Brown and Clara Frances Mulock. During the Second World War he served as liaison agent for the British Air Commission and the Royal Navy in the United States, arriving there in 1940. In 1946, following a spell in Windsor, Ontario William re-entered the United States taking up a post as an engineering executive with the Bendix Corporation, a post he would hold until his death. He died on 26th May 1956 at South Bend, Indiana and is buried in Winchester Cemetery.
H2. Eric Brown (1904-1968) Born on 17th January 1904 in Preston, Lancashire, the second son of William Brown and Clara Frances Mulock. On 12th August 1933 he married Doris Evelyn Whittle, a maternal cousin to the author George Orwell. Of this marriage there was issue, a daughter, (I.1) Ann. An accountant with the Milk Marketing Board, at the outbreak of the Second World War he was unable to join the services because of poor eyesight. He served with the Auxiliary Fire Service in London, his family having been evacuated to the relative safety of Wiltshire. Later in the war Eric joined the Territorial Army as a medical officer. A staunch liberal, Eric died in 1968 and was survived by his wife by twenty years.
H3. Gretchen Brown (1908-2001). Youngest child of William Brown and Clara Frances Mulock. Born on 15th August 1908 in Preston, Lancashire, she married Mr John Preston Brown, a Bank Official of Fleetwood on 19th September 1932. She survived her husband and later lived at Glenroyd Nursing Home in Blackpool. She passed away on 17th October 2001.
G2. Nellie Bell Mulock (1879-1932). Second child of George Philips Mulock by his first marriage to Clara Frances Lugsdin. Born at the family home in Cyprus Terrace in Blackpool, Lancashire on the 3rd September 1879. In 1902 she married Mr Lewis Edwin Pickin, a Chartered Accountant. Of this marriage there was issue, two daughters (H1.) Nina and (H2.) Molly Mulock. The couple divorced on 19th April 1918 and on 30th October 1918 she married a Major Geldard. Of this second marriage there was issue, a daughter (H3.) Joan Mulock. Nellie Bell died in the Union of South Africa on 4th May 1932.
H1. Nina Pickin (1904-????). Eldest daughter of Nellie Bell Mulock and Lewis Edwin Pickin, born on 24th April 1904. On 15th January 1934 she married Mr Bernard J. Lavers and of this marriage there was issue, two daughters, (I1.) Jill Penelope and (I2.) Wendy.
H2. Molly Mulock Pickin (1906-1982). Second and youngest daughter of Nellie Bell Mulock and Lewis Edwin Pickin. Born on 22nd July 1908, she married Major (later Colonel) William Lawie IMS, a doctor with the Indian Medical Service on 15th January 1935. Of this marriage there was issue a son and daughter: (I1.) Ronald William Lewis and (I2.) Sally Mulock. Molly Mulock Lawie died on 12th February 1982.
H3. Joan Mulock Geldard (????-1982). Only child of Nellie Bell Mulock by her second marriage to Major Geldard. She died unmarried and without issue in Yelverton, Devon on 2nd April 1982.
G3. Nina Annie Litchfield Mulock (1881-1889). Youngest daughter of George Philips Mulock by his first marriage to Clara Frances Lugsdin. Born at the family home No. 38 London Street, Fleetwood USD, Lancashire on the 8th February 1881, she died unmarried and without issue on 8th February 1899. She was buried at Blackpool Cemetery.
G4. Captain George Francis Arthur Mulock D.S.O., R.N., F.R.G.S. (1882-1963). Only son of George Philips Mulock by his first marriage to Clara Frances Lugsdin. Born at No. 140 Stanley Terrace, Blackpool on 7th February 1882. After attending Stanmore Park Preparatory School, he entered HMS Britannia as a Midshipman in 1896. Served on HMS Victorious, 1897-1900; HMS Pilot, 1900; HMS Magnificent, 1900-01; HMS Revenge, 1901-02; HMS Triton, 1902. On 21st June 1902 sailed aboard SY Morning as part of National Antarctic Relief Expedition; transferred to S.Y. Discovery replacing (Sir) Ernest Shackleton, March 1903; appointed Surveyor and Cartographer for the British National Antarctic Expedition. Invested with Silver Polar Medal by King Edward VII at Buckingham Palace, 1905. Upon return of Discovery in 1904, seconded to Royal Geographical Society to compile scientific data and maps, for his efforts elected a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. HMS Vernon, 1906-07; HMS Achilles, 1907-08. Appointed successively Captain of HMS Hunter, 1908-09; HMS Woodlark, 1909-12; HMS Stag, 1913; HMS Mallard, 1913 and HMS Jed, 1913-1915. Served as Chief Assistant to Captain Staveley at Helles Beach and Suvla Bay in the Dardanelles, 1915-16 as Acting Commander. Awarded Distinguished Service Order, 1916 for saving lives from HMS Ocean. Executive Officer of HMS Prince George, 1916; HMS Southampton, 1916. Captain of HMS Sawfly, 1917; HMS Firefly; HMS Bee, 1917-1920. Retired in January 1920 and joined Asiatic Petroleum Co. at Shanghai as Marine Superintendent 1920-1939. Promoted to Captain on retired list, 1927. Commission re-activated August 1939 as Captain. Appointed Head of Extended Defences, Singapore, 1939. Commanded ML Osprey and Mary Rose 14th February 1942 captured by Japanese at Muntok, Sumatra. Prisoner of War 1942-45 held at Palembang in Sumatra and Changi in Singapore. Transported to Taiwan in SS England Maru along with other senior British and Commonwealth officers and held at Karenko and Shirakawa. Whilst in Taiwan he was brutally tortured and regularly beaten by the Japanese secret police alongside Sir Mark Young, Governor-General of Hong Kong. Transported to Japan in SS Oryoku Maru and finally Mukden, Manchuria. Liberated in 1945 by the Red Army. Airlifted to Ceylon. Retired from Royal Navy in 1946 and gave evidence at the Japanese war trials in Hong Kong before retiring to South Africa. Latterly, moved to Malaga, Spain where he lived at his villa ‘Las Camellias’ overlooking Torremolinos. Died at St. George’s Hospital, Gibraltar on 26th December 1963.
G5. Lieutenant Henry Collister Mulock, R.F.C. (1891-1917). Only child of George Phillips Mulock by his second marriage to Jane Elizabeth Collister. Born on 9th October 1891. Joined the South Staffordshire Regiment as 2nd Lieutenant in 1914, transferred to Royal Flying Corps, 52nd Squadron. Engaged in photographic reconnaissance of enemy lines at the Battle of the Somme. While photographing large forest several miles behind enemy lines on 15th February 1917, aeroplane came under attack from three German aircraft. At 6,000 feet Flight Lieutenant ‘Bunny’ Mulock battled in vain, his observer shot ten times and killed outright by a shot through the heart, he himself shot through the spine, paralysing him instantly. The aircraft fell just west of the ruins at Bouchavesness, the wreckage discovered by Officers from the 52nd Squadron. He was buried with full military honours. His body was later moved to Grove Town Cemetery, Meaulte, near Albert in France.
C2. Helena Mulock (1741-1815). Eldest daughter of Robert Mulock, of Moate Co. Westmeath and later Banagher. She married Francis Enraght (1744-1802) afterwards Enraght-Moony (See Burke’s Landed Gentry of Ireland, MOONY, of the Doon). Helena died on the 21st October 1815, aged 74 years. Of the marriage there was issue a son and daughter, (D1.) Mary Anne and (D2.) Robert James.
D1. Mary Anne Enraght-Moony. Married firstly the Reverend Hamilton and secondly Henry Malone, who himself died in 1843 without issue, son of Edmund Malone of Ballynahowan, by his wife Mary daughter of John O'Connor of Mount Pleasant, King's county.
D2. Robert James Enraght-Moony. Succeeded his father Francis at the Doon in 1802. He served as magistrate for the King’s County, of which he had been High Sheriff in 1794. In June of that year he had married Isabella Drought, eldest daughter of John Drought of Whigsborough, High Sheriff of King’s County in 1780. Of this marriage there was issue, one son and five daughters (E1.) Francis; (E2.) Isabella Georgina; (E3.) Sarah Isabella; (E4.) Susanna Elizabeth; (E5.) Eleanor Mary and (E6.) Matilda Frances. Robert James Enraght-Moony died on 22nd November 1842 having survived his wife Isabella Drought by six years.
E1. Francis Moony Enraght-Moony. Of The Doon, born in 1795. He served as a magistrate for the King’s County and served as it’s High Sheriff in 1820. On the 22nd December 1829 he married Miss Cathrine Foot, daughter of Mr Lundy Foot, of the Rower, Co. Kilkenny and of Orlagh, Co. Dublin. Of this marriage there was issue, three sons and two daughters, (F1.) Robert James; (F2.) Jeffrey Francis; (F3.) John Drought; (F4.) Anne Jane and (F5.) Isabella Sarah.
F1. Robert James Enraght-Moony. Of the Doon, was living at Retreat, Athlone, Co. Westmeath and King's county, of which later he was High Sheriff in 1855. A would-be assassin fired him at as he drove home to the Doon on the evening of the 3rd January 1882, but fortunately escaped injury. On the 31st January 1861 he married Angelina, youngest daughter of George Mears Maunsell, of Ballywilliam, Co. Limerick. Of the marriage there was issue, three sons and three daughters (G1.) Francis Owen; (G2.) George Mears Stopford; (G3.) Robert James; (G4.) Mary Maud; (G5.) Katherine Isabella and (G6.) Hilda Angelina. Robert James Enraght-Moony died on the 5th September 1892 and was buried in Clonmacnois. His wife Angelina died in 1916, having survived her husband by fourteen years.
G1. Francis Owen Enraght-Moony. Died on 1st April 1870. He was buried at Clonmacnois where the monument gives his age as five years.
G2. George Meares Stopford Enraght-Moony. Eldest surviving son succeeded to the Doon. He was a magistrate for the King's county and was High Sheriff in 1920. He was born 31st March 1868 and educated at Westward. On 16th September 1902 he married Henrietta Georgina Ethel, eldest daughter of George Charles Mulock, a distant cousin and District Inspector of the Royal Irish Constabulary by his wife Henrietta Cole, daughter of John Charles Metga of Sion, county Meath. Of the marriage there was issue, four sons and one daughter, viz.: (H1.) Owen Robert Mulock; (H2.) Edward Ross; (H3.) Desmond Stopford Mulock; (H4.) Roderick George and (H5.) Aphra Emily.
H1. Owen Robert Mulock Enraght-Moony.
H2. Lieutenant Edward Ross Enraght-Moony RN (1909-1986). Born 14 September 1909, educated on HMS Conway and served as a lieutenant in the Royal Navy. On 9 February 1937 he married Frances Josephine, daughter of James Ryan of Rathdowney, Co. Laois, by whom he had issue all living. Edward Ross Enraght-Moony died in Worcestershire in December 1986.
I1. Nicholas Ross Enraght-Moony. Born 26 May 1940.
I2. James Frances Owen Enraght-Moony. Born 29 April 1947.
I3. Georgina Jane Enraght-Moony. Born 25 October 1937.
I4. Margaret Aphra Enraght-Moony. Born 18 January 1939.
H3. Captain Dr. Desmond Stopford Mulock Enraght-Moony M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O. (1911-1999). Of Sutherland Avenue, Orpington, Kent, born 8 June 1911 and educated at St. Columba's College Dublin (M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O. 1940). After serving in a hospital in Middlesborough, Dr. Enraght-Moony was appointed as a 2nd Lieutenant with the Indian Army Medical Service. Promoted to Captain whilst in the Middle East, he served in Iran, Iraq and Burma. Between 1951-85 he established and practised at the St Mary’s Cray medical practise in Kent. He married 4th July 1956 Joyce Mary youngest Daughter of Henry Coningsby Denny of 27 Hinchley Drive, Hinchley Wood Esher, Surrey - both living 1958. There are three sons of the marriage. Dr Enraght-Moony died on 31st August 1999.
H4. Roderick George Enraght-Moony. Of the Doon, born 1st February 1914 and educated at St. Columba's College. On 15th August 1944 he Married Kathleen Teresa eldest daughter of Patrick St. Laurance O' Dea of 37 Prospect Hill, Galway, by whom he had issue all living and also parents in 1958.
I1. Robert Patrick Enraght-Moony. Born 6th November 1945.
I2. Peter Roderick Enraght-Moony. Born 4th June 1952.
I3. Isabella Anne Enraght-Moony twin with her brother, Peter Roderick.
I4. Jennifer Mary Enraght-Moony. Born 16 May 1947.
H5. Aphra Emily Enraght-Moony. Of 1386 Sacraments Street, Sauseleto California, U.S.A. born 27 May 1947.
G3. Robert James Enraght-Moony (1879-1946). Youngest son of Robert James Enraght-Moony born 13th September 1879 and died 6th May 1946. Robert James was a noted artist with several well-known works in galleries across the world.
G4. Mary Maud Enraght-Moony. Eldest daughter of Robert James Enraght-Moony. On the 9th April 1890 she married William Morley Philip Aldborough Reamsbottom of Aldborough House, King's county and Larkspur Park, Kati Kati, New Zealand and died 24 May 1925 leaving issue.
G5. Katherine Isabella Enraght-Moony. On 21st October 1903 she married Mr Wilfred Perry of Lisberg, Belmont, in the King's county (d. 1944). She died on the 10th August 1953 leaving issue two sons and a daughter.
G6. Hilda Angelina Enraght-Moony. Youngest daughter of Robert James Enraght-Moony, born in 1875 and living at the Doon, Ballynahown in 1953.
F2. Jeffery Francis Enraght-Moony. Died in his youth, unmarried and without issue.
F3. Captain John Drought Enraght-Moony. A lieutenant serving with the in 13th Somersetshire Light Infantry and later as a Captain with the Colonial Forces during the Kaffir War of 1879-80. On the 16th August 1862 he married Miss Elizabeth Anna Davies, daughter of David Davies of the 90th Regiment, by whom he had issue, (G1.) Francis Herbert Greenock; (G2.) David Robert; (G3.) John Owen; (G4.) Hugh O' Neill; (G5.) Catherine Louisa Isabella; (G6.) Rose Gwendaedd; (G7.) Edith Violet and (G8.) Gladys Wharton.
G1. His Excellency Francis Herbert Greenock Enraght-Moony (1865-1943). Former resident British Commissioner of Swaziland, 1902-07, under the subordination of the British High Commissioner for South Africa. Born 9 April 1865, he married Miss Married Mary L. Stevens and retired to the Channel Islands, where he died without issue on the island of Jersey on December 14th 1943.
G2. David Robert Enraght-Moony (1866-1896). Born on the 11th October 1866, he was killed whilst participating in the Matabele War on the 15th June 1896.
G3. John Owen William Enraght-Moony. Born 23rd March 1870, married Miss Sophia Barnard.
G4. Hugh O' Neill Enraght-Moony. Born 17th August 1881 and was living in 1958.
G5. Catherine Louisa Isabella Enraght-Moony. She married Edward Gardiner Powell on the 14th December 1898, and both were living in 1958.
G6. Rose Gwendaedd Enraght-Moony. On the 3rd June 1896 she married Captain C.R. Nettleton. Both were living in 1958.
G7. Edith Violet Enraght-Moony. Born in March 1876. On the 9th June 1903 she married Major Alfred Edmond Weld, R.A.M.C., eldest son of Mathew Richard Weld of the Indian Civil Service. Both were living in 1958.
G8. Gladys Wharton Enraght-Moony. Born on the 23rd June 1883 and living 1958
F4. Anne Jane Enraght-Moony. Eldest daughter of Robert James Enraght-Moony. On the 9th August 1862 she married Captain George Joseph Maunsell of the 15th Regiment.
F5. Isabella Sarah Enraght-Moony. Youngest daughter of Robert James Enraght-Moony. On the 3rd June 1874 she married John William Tarleton of Kelleigh, King's County, whose ancestors came from Lancashire in the seventeenth century.
E2. Isabella Georgina Enraght-Moony. Died in infancy and without issue.
E3. Sarah Isabella Enraght-Moony. Died on 18 November 1838 unmarried and without issue.
E4. Susanna Elizabeth Enraght-Moony. On the 19th March 1833 she married Commander Lundy Dickinson R.N. of Spring Lawn, Tubber, King's County and died 28 June 1843. There is no known issue of this marriage.
E5. Eleanor Mary Enraght-Moony. She married first John Whitly Frazer R.A, who died and was buried in Clonmacnois and secondly on the 24th January 1885 Charles Dillon Fry, who died 20 October that same year.
E6. Matilda Frances Enraght-Moony. On 12th January 1836 she married the Reverend Simon Charles Foot M.A, Rector of Knockopher, Co. Kilkenny. Matilda Frances died on the 23rd September 1838.
C3. Elizabeth Mulock, a devisee under her father’s will, together with her sister Frances, of the lands of Ballinakill and others.
C4. Frances Mulock, youngest daughter of Robert Mulock, of Moate and Banagher. Married Dr. Thomas Grattan, a Doctor of Physic; a devisee under her father’s will, and obtained on 15th December 1791, letters of administration of his goods with his will annexed, on the renunciation of the executor, the Reverend John Mulock.
A2. Nicholas Mulock, the second known son of Thomas Mulock, of Ballinakill, born in around 1657, who married firstly Elizabeth Goodman, by whom he had issue, a daughter (B1.) Elizabeth. He married secondly Anne Copelin, and had issue, two daughters (B2.) Anne and (B3.) Mary.
[The information relating to A2. Nicholas Mulock, brother to A1. Thomas Mulock, and his family is derived from an old pedigree of the Mulock family in the handwriting of Thomas Mulock, of Kilnagarna (the Counsellor), which appears to have been prepared for the purposes of an action of ejectment brought by Joshua Mulock, of Clara, against Major Benjamin Ball, a great-grandson of Thomas Buckley and Mary Mulock his wife, and father of the Right Honourable John Thomas Ball, Lord Chancellor of Ireland.]
B1. Elizabeth Mulock, who married Mr Robert Preston
B2. Anne Mulock, who married Mr William Jones.
B3. Mary Mulock, who married Mr Thomas Buckley
C1. Son Buckley?
D1. Daughter Buckley, Son-in-Law Ball. They had a son (E1.) Benjamin
E1. Major Benjamin Ball, formerly of the 40th Regiment. The subject of an action of ejectment brought by his cousin Joshua Mulock of Clara. Major Ball had one son, F1. John Thomas.
F1. The Right Hon. John Thomas Ball M.P., LL.D, D.C.L., P.C. (1815-1898). Educated at Trinity College, Dublin, where he received his LL.D. in 1844. Called to the Irish Bar, 1840; called to the Inner Bar, 1854; Vicar General of the Province of Armagh, 1862; Bench of the King’s Inns, 1863; Queen’s Advocate for Ireland, 1865; Solicitor General for Ireland, 1868; Attorney General, 1868-74; Member of Parliament for Dublin University, 1868. Opposed Irish Church Act; assisted in framing future constitution of disestablished Church of Ireland; opposed Gladstone's Irish Land Bill, 1870, and Irish University Bill, 1873. Lord Chancellor of Ireland, 1875-80; vice-chancellor of Dublin University, 1880. The eldest son of Major Benjamin Ball, in 1852 he married Catharine Elrington, daughter of the Rev. Charles Richard Elrington D.D. In later life he lived at Taney House, Dundrum, Co. Dublin. He died on 17th March 1898.
G1. Francis Elrington Ball (1863-1928). Eldest son of John Thomas Ball, future Lord Chancellor of Ireland, born in Portmarnock, Co. Dublin and educated privately. An unsuccessful Unionist candidate for South Dublin in 1890, he turned his hand to writing. As a successful historian and antiquary, he was considered the foremost expert of the life of Jonathan Swift. His works included A History of the County of Dublin (1902-20), The Correspondence of Jonathan Swift, D.D. (1910-14), The Judges in Ireland, 1221-1921, (1926), and Swift's Verse; an Essay (1929). For his literary work he was awarded a DDLit, TCD, DNB and DIB.